Obras de referencia
Diccionarios
La cocina situada: un diccionario ilustrado para la soberanía alimentaria by ISBN: 9788425233234Publication Date: 2021
Dictionary of Travel, Tourism and Hospitality by
This new edition combines within two covers: * A dictionary of 2500 terms * Descriptions of 300 organizations * A biographical dictionary of 100 personalities * Explanations of 1200 acronyms and abbreviations * Key data for well over 200 countries * A concise bibliography listing more than 100 useful sources of further information The author's long and wide experience of these fields makes this an indispensable companion for students and teachers, and those employed in relevant businesses and organizations, as well as for the travellers, tourists and guests who are the raison d'être of it all.
ISBN: 9780080521862Publication Date: 2012
The Tourism Society's Dictionary for the Tourism Industry by
This dictionary is a handy reference covering everyday terms used within the tourism, travel, leisure and airline sectors. The dictionary provides an overview of terminology used within these global industries, complete with explanations for industry-specific terms and helpful annotated diagrams to illustrate travel related information, such as seating plans and airline tickets. It is a useful introduction for those new to studying or working in tourism and related industries. * Covers travel-related facts on over 130 countries, including capital cities, currencies and languages * Includes airline and airport codings for major airlines and airports worldwide * Lists the Phonetic Radio Alphabet as used by pilots and other transport professionals. * Provides a selection of interesting words and idioms useful for guides, tour managers and those compiling itineraries
ISBN: 9781845934491Publication Date: 2008
Eating Your Words : 2000 Words to Tease Your Taste Buds by ISBN: 9780199770632Publication Date: 2004
Enciclopedias
Ethnic American Food Today by
Ethnic American Food Today introduces readers to the myriad ethnic food cultures in the U.S. today. Entries are organized alphabetically by nation and present the background and history of each food culture along with explorations of the place of that food in mainstream American society today. Many of the entries draw upon ethnographic research and personal experience, giving insights into the meanings of various ethnic food traditions as well as into what, how, and why people of different ethnicities are actually eating today. The entries look at foodways--the network of activities surrounding food itself--as well as the beliefs and aesthetics surrounding that food, and the changes that have occurred over time and place. They also address stereotypes of that food culture and the culture's influence on American eating habits and menus, describing foodways practices in both private and public contexts, such as restaurants, groceries, social organizations, and the contemporary world of culinary arts. Recipes of representative or iconic dishes are included. This timely two-volume encyclopedia addresses the complexity--and richness--of both ethnicity and food in America today.
ISBN: 9781442227309Publication Date: 2015-07-17
Facilities Manager's Desk Reference by
An invaluable source of highly relevant, practicalinformation on the all the principal FM services, written for thepracticing facilities manager in an easily readable, conciseformat. To help the facilities manager meet the needs of theirorganisation, the Facilities Manager?s Desk Referenceprovides the facilities manager with an invaluable source of highlyrelevant, practical information on the all the principal FMservices, as well as information on legal compliance issues, thedevelopment of strategic policies and tactical best practiceinformation. Fully updated over the first edition, and presented in an easilyreadable, concise format with a clear practitioner perspective, thebook covers both hard and soft facilities management issues. Itwill be a first point of reference for all busy facilitiesmanagers, saving them time by providing access to the informationneeded to ensure the safe, effective and efficient running of anyfacilities function. Fully updated over the 1st edition, it contains allthe essential data covering the principal FM services Highly practical, aimed at the busy FM practitioner Saves time by bringing together essential, useful and practicalinformation Benefits students whose courses do not prepare them for thepracticalities of professional practice
ISBN: 9781118462942Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Kitchen History by
First published in 2005. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
ISBN: 9780203319178Publication Date: 2004
Handbook of Consumer Behavior, Tourism, and the Internet by
Make the most of your online business resources The growing acceptance and use of the Internet as an increasingly valuable travel tool has tourism and hospitality businesses taking a critical look at their business-to-customer online environments while pondering such questions as, "How do I get people to visit my Web site?" "Is my Web site attracting the 'right' kind of e-consumers?" and "How do I turn browsers into buyers?" The Handbook of Consumer Behavior, Tourism, and the Internet analyzes the latest strategies involving Internet business applications that will help you attract--and keep--online travel customers. Researchers from the United States, Europe, and Asia present the latest findings you need to make the right decisions regarding long-term e-commerce development and planning. The Handbook of Consumer Behavior, Tourism, and the Internet examines vital issues affecting the travel and tourism industry from an online perspective. This book analyzes the latest theory and research on general online buyer characteristics, the differences between online and offline consumer behavior, the differences between broadband and narrowband users, the online search process, quality and perception of lodging brands, and Web site design, maintenance, and development. Each section of the book includes a model/diagram that serves as an overview of the topic, followed by a thorough discussion on the topic from several sources. Each section ends with commentary on the areas where future research is needed. The book's contributors use a variety of research methodologies ranging from qualitative data analyses using artificial neutral network analysis, to experimental design, non-parametric statistical tests, and structural equation modeling. Topics examined in the Handbook of Consumer Behavior, Tourism, and the Internet include: the need for businesses to use internal examinations to determine and meet online consumer needs the emerging field of e-complaint behavior--consumers taking to the Web to voice complaints about travel services how to use e-tools to measure guest satisfaction how to measure consumer reaction to Web-based technology the Internet's impact on decision making for travel products and how to use e-mail marketing, electronic customer relationship management (eCRM), Web positioning, and search engine placement The Handbook of Consumer Behavior, Tourism, and the Internet is equally valuable as a classroom resource or professional reference, providing up-to-date material on Internet applications and their impact on consumers and e-commerce.
ISBN: 9780789025999Publication Date: 2005
Handbook of Food Process Design by
In the 21st Century, processing food is no longer a simple or straightforward matter. Ongoing advances in manufacturing have placed new demands on the design and methodology of food processes. A highly interdisciplinary science, food process design draws upon the principles of chemical and mechanical engineering, microbiology, chemistry, nutrition and economics, and is of central importance to the food industry. Process design is the core of food engineering, and is concerned at its root with taking new concepts in food design and developing them through production and eventual consumption. Handbook of Food Process Design is a major new 2-volume work aimed at food engineers and the wider food industry. Comprising 46 original chapters written by a host of leading international food scientists, engineers, academics and systems specialists, the book has been developed to be the most comprehensive guide to food process design ever published. Starting from first principles, the book provides a complete account of food process designs, including heating and cooling, pasteurization, sterilization, refrigeration, drying, crystallization, extrusion, and separation. Mechanical operations including mixing, agitation, size reduction, extraction and leaching processes are fully documented. Novel process designs such as irradiation, high-pressure processing, ultrasound, ohmic heating and pulsed UV-light are also presented. Food packaging processes are considered, and chapters on food quality, safety and commercial imperatives portray the role process design in the broader context of food production and consumption.
ISBN: 9781444330113Publication Date: 2012-05-21
International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management by
The International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management is the definitive reference work for any individual studying or working in the hospitality industry. There are 185 Hospitality Management degrees in the UK alone. This new edition updates and significantly revises twenty five per cent of the entries and has an additional twenty new entries. New online material makes it the most up-to-date and accessible hospitality management encyclopedia on the market. It covers all of the relevant issues in the field of hospitality management from a sectoral level (lodging, restaurants/food service, time-share, clubs and events) as well as a functional one (accounting and finance, marketing, strategic management, human resources, information technology and facilities management). Its unique, user-friendly structure enables readers to find exactly the information they require at a glance; whether they require broad detail that takes a more cross-sectional view across each subject field or more focused information that looks closely at specific topics and issues within the hospitality industry today.
ISBN: 9781856177146Publication Date: 2010
Routledge International Handbook of Food Studies by
Over the past decade there has been a remarkable flowering of interest in food and nutrition, both within the popular media and in academia. Scholars are increasingly using foodways, food systems and eating habits as a new unit of analysis within their own disciplines, and students are rushing into classes and formal degree programs focused on food. Introduced by the editor and including original articles by over thirty leading food scholars from around the world, the Routledge International Handbook of Food Studies offers students, scholars and all those interested in food-related research a one-stop, easy-to-use reference guide. Each article includes a brief history of food research within a discipline or on a particular topic, a discussion of research methodologies and ideological or theoretical positions, resources for research, including archives, grants and fellowship opportunities, as well as suggestions for further study. Each entry also explains the logistics of succeeding as a student and professional in food studies. This clear, direct Handbook will appeal to those hoping to start a career in academic food studies as well as those hoping to shift their research to a food-related project. Strongly interdisciplinary, this work will be of interest to students and scholars throughout the social sciences and humanities.
ISBN: 9780415782647Publication Date: 2012
The Handbook of Managing and Marketing Tourism Experiences by
The planning, design, management and marketing of experiences for tourism markets is a major challenge for tourism destinations and providers in a globalized and highly competitive market. This book bridges the gap in contemporary literature by carefully examining the management and marketing of tourism experiences. It has the following specific objectives: first to analyse the main issues and challenges related to tourism experience management and marketing; second, to present and discuss adequate analytical frameworks and tools; third to explore the adoption and implementation of approaches to managing and marketing experiences in various tourism contexts and industries; and finally to present and discuss case studies illustrating approaches adopted, methods implemented and best practices in addressing related issues. The book concludes by providing strategic management and marketing implications and recommendations for tourism businesses and destinations to enable them to successfully create, manage, market and evaluate tourism experiences.
ISBN: 9781786352903Publication Date: 2016
The Emerald Handbook of Entrepreneurship in Tourism, Travel and Hospitality by
This book is a practical handbook for entrepreneurship in tourism related industries. The book will provide students and prospective entrepreneurs with the knowledge, know-how and best practices in order to assist them in planning, implementing and managing business ventures in the field of tourism. It constitutes a valuable contribution to developing the necessary knowledge, competencies and skills of entrepreneurial decision-making and ventures. It would serve as a guide for those studying entrepreneurship and preparing for entrepreneurial careers as well as a reference for the practical use of entrepreneurs at the planning, implementation, operation and evaluation stages of building a tourism business. Examples from the industry/business world are provided to illustrate real-life practice and give readers a better understanding of entrepreneurship in tourism.
ISBN: 9781787435308Publication Date: 2018
The Routledge Handbook of Cultural Tourism by
The Routledge Handbook of Cultural Tourism explores and critically evaluates the debates and controversies in this field of Tourism. It brings together leading specialists from a range of disciplinary backgrounds and geographical regions, to provide state-of-the-art theoretical reflection and empirical research on this significant stream of tourism and its future direction. The book is divided into 7 inter-related sections. Section 1 looks at the historical, philosophical and theoretical framework for cultural tourism. This section debates tourist autonomy role play, authenticity, imaginaries, cross-cultural issues and inter-disciplinarity Section 2 analyses the role that politics takes in cultural tourism. This section also looks at ways in which cultural tourism is used as a policy instrument for economic development. Section 3 focuses on social patterns and trends, such as the mobilities paradigm, performativity, reflexivity and traditional hospitality, as well as considering sensitive social issues such as dark tourism. Section 4 analyses community and development, exploring adaptive forms of cultural tourism, as well as more sustainble models for indigenous tourism development. Section 5 discusses Landscapes and Destinations, including the transformation of space into place, issues of authenticity in landscape, the transformation of urban and rural landscapes into tourism products and conservation versus development dilemmas. Section 6 refers to Regeneration and Planning, especially the creative turn in cultural tourism, which can be used to avoid problems of serial reproduction, standardisation and homogenisation. Section 7 deals with The Tourist and Visitor Experience, emphasising the desire of tourists to be more actively and interactively engaged in cultural tourism. This significant volume offers the reader a comprehensive synthesis of this field, conveying the latest thinking and research. The text is international in focus, encouraging dialogue across disciplinary boundaries and areas of study and will be an invaluable resource for all those with an interest in Cultural Tourism. This is essential reading for students, researchers and academics of Tourism as well as those of related studies in particular Cultural Studies, Leisure, Geography, Sociology, Politics and Economics.
ISBN: 9781136324789Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Tourism by
In fewer than three hundred years tourism has become a global service industry of great economic, cultural and political importance. Published to critical acclaim, the Encyclopedia of Tourism - now available as a Routledge World Reference title - is the definitive one-volume reference source to this challenging multisectoral industry and multi disciplinary field of study. Comprising over one thousand entries, this volume has been written by an international team of contributors to provide a comprehensive guide to both the manifest and hidden dimensions of tourism. It explores the wide range of definitions, concepts, perspectives and institutions and includes: comprehensive coverage of key issues and conceptsnbsp; definitions of all terms and acronyms entries on the significant institutions, associations and journals in the field country-specific tourism profiles, from Greece to Japan and Kenya to Peru thorough analysis of the trends and patterns of tourism development and growth. The extensive cross-referencing and comprehensive index will assist the reader in making links between the diverse aspects of tourism studies, and the suggestions for further reading are invaluable.
ISBN: 9780203195673Publication Date: 2002
