Introducción a la Actividad Gerencial
Introducción a las teorías, funciones gerenciales, visión empresarial y el panorama general de los negocios, se estudian y analizan los procesos de planificación, dirección, organización y control dentro de un marco de estudio interdisciplinario. El curso enfatiza la visión sistemática de los negocios con todos los aspectos que le permiten un funcionamiento efectivo y sustentable. Este curso puede enseñarse en la modalidad educativa presencial, híbrido a distancia o totalmente en línea.
Prontuario del curso
Texto sugerido del curso
Fundamentals of Management, Global Edition, 11th Edition by ISBN: 9781292307398Publication Date: 2019
Bibliografía recomendada
Dirección Empresarial: Sistemas de Gestión e Innovación by ISBN: 9789591641786Publication Date: 2022
Introducing Management in a Global Context by
Managing a global business introduces particular challenges; managers must decide whether to standardize and centralize or to devolve key decisions to local markets, how to handle performance management, talent management and a range of other concerns. In this core text a range of leading experts present an introduction to management in a global context.Covering the major management disciplines, Introducing Management in a Global Context provides an introductory overview of key topic areas and to glimpse the latest research in domains such as strategy, technology and change, economics and development, politics and the social world, marketing, ethics and corporate decision making.To help support their learning, readers have access to a range of online resources including chapter-by-chapter multiple choice questions which will enable them to assess how well they have grasped individual chapters. The text also features a range of supplementary readings, in text exercises and cases/examples to help bring concepts to life. Understanding the content and context of this book will help shape you as a globally oriented manager. Includes:* In text exercises and end of chapter review questions with 'solutions';* PowerPoint slide sets for each chapter, suitable for 2 hours teaching;* Exemplar papers for each topic area to encourage further reading and research* "Who to Read" summaries at the end of each chapter identifying leading thinkers in the field;* MCQs which could be used for class test or self-assessment purposes to enhance student learning.Kevin O'Gorman was formerly Professor of Management and Business History and Head of Business Management in the School of Languages and Management in Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh. He trained in Glasgow, Salamanca and Rome as a philosopher, theologian and historian. His research interests have a dual focus: Origins, history and cultural practices of hospitality, and philosophical, ethical and cultural underpinnings of contemporary management practices. Using a wide range of methodological approaches he has published over 80 journal articles, books, chapters, and conference papers in business and management studies.Robert MacIntosh is Professor of Strategy and Head of the School of Management and Languages at Heriot-Watt University. He trained as an engineer and has worked at the Universities of Glasgow and Strathclyde. His research on the ways in which top teams develop strategy and on organizational change has been published in a wide range of outlets. He has a long-standing interest in research methods for business and management studies and has published on the relevance of management research using methods that include ethnography and action research. He has consulted extensively with public and private sector organizations and sits on the board of the charity Turning Point Scotland.
ISBN: 9781910158470Publication Date: 2015
The Practice of Management by
This classic volume achieves a remarkable width of appeal without sacrificing scientific accuracy or depth of analysis. It is a valuable contribution to the study of business efficiency which should be read by anyone wanting information about the developments and place of management, and it is as relevant today as when it was first written. This is a practical book, written out of many years of experience in working with managements of small, medium and large corporations. It aims to be a management guide, enabling readers to examine their own work and performance, to diagnose their weaknesses and to improve their own effectiveness as well as the results of the enterprise they are responsible for.
ISBN: 9780750685047Publication Date: 2007
Successful Business Process Management by
Too few standard procedures within an organization and inefficiency will inevitably ensue. But too many, and creativity is stifled. This catch-22 is enough to make heads spin! How does one settle on the perfect mix that will streamline activities and create smooth workflows?Successful Business Process Management has done all the homework for you and provides a succinct, accessible overview on the training and tools available for process improvement that fills that gap of being not too rigid nor too blasé. Step-by-step instructions explain how to:* Overcome resistance and apathy to standard procedures * Take a systematic rather than ad hoc approach to process management * Design key processes and capture them in documented procedures * Revise existing processes when feasible * Roll out the changes so people know what to do * Embed them in the organization for reliable outcomesWith the increasingly complex organizations of the twenty-first century, it is vital that companies have standard, documented processes and procedures in order to achieve high levels of quality and productivity--yet they can't afford to dampen the innovativeness that got them on the map in the first place. In Successful Business Process Management learn how to get it just right.
ISBN: 9780814434024Publication Date: 2014
Otras fuentes recomendadas (Open Access)
Bases de datos Administración de Empresas
Bases de datos para localizar revistas académicas y profesionales en temas de Administración de Empresas:
- ABI/INFORM CollectionLa base de datos presenta miles de revistas de texto completo, disertaciones, documentos de trabajo, publicaciones clave de negocios y economía, como The Economist, informes centrados en el país y la industria, y datos descargables. Su cobertura internacional ofrece a los investigadores una imagen completa de las empresas y las tendencias comerciales en todo el mundo.
Temas: Administración, Contabilidad, Negocios, Finanzas, Economía, Seguros, Recursos Humanos, Gerencia, Liderazgo, Marketing, Mercadeo, Empresarismo, Banca. Accounting, Administration, Business, Compañías, Companies, Commerce, Finance, Human Resources, Insurance, Economy, Banking - Accounting, Tax & Banking CollectionContiene indices y articulos en texto completo de publicaciones en el área de contabilidad y finanzas.
Otros temas: Administración, Economía, Seguros, Recursos Humanos, Gerencia, Liderazgo, Marketing, Mercadeo, Empresarismo, Banca. - Business Market Research This link opens in a new windowContiene Informes y Perfiles de mercado de compañías, Industrias procedente de tres reconocidas fuentes, Hoover's Company Profile, OxResearch, y Snapshots.
Temas: Finanzas, Negocios, Administración, Administración de Empresas, Compañías, Industry Reports, Informes, Perfiles, Industrias - Proquest Databases This link opens in a new windowPermite realizar búsquedas en todas las bases de datos de Proquest.
Proquest Central, Dissertation Abstracts & Thesis, Historical Newspapers: The New York Times y Worldwide Political Science Abstracts - Dialnet This link opens in a new windowDialnet es uno de los mayores portales bibliográficos del mundo, cuyo principal cometido es dar mayor visibilidad a la literatura científica hispana.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new windowEl Directory of Open Access Journals es un servicio que provee acceso gratuito a revistas cientiicas y academicas en diversos idiomás y materias.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowBase de datos bibliográfica multidisciplinaria. Provee acceso a la información bibliográfica y en ocasíones el texto completo de artículos, documentos, libros, tesis y disertaciones.
- Redalyc This link opens in a new windowRedalyc incluye revistas científicas de los países de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal.
Magazines y periódicos internacionales en temas de economía, finanzas y negocios
- PressReader Business & Current AffairsProvee acceso a magacines y periódicos en temas de economía, finanzas y negocios. Aquí encontrará reconocidos títulos como: Forbes, Fortune, Business World, Business Times, Harvard Deusto Business Review, Inc. y muchos más.
Para búsqueda de información sobre leyes, casos y reglamentos puede utilizar las siguientes bases de datos:
- MicroJuris This link opens in a new windowBase de datos especializada en información legal.
Temas:
Leyes, Puerto Rico, Criminalidad, Justicia Criminal, Criminología, Law, Legislation, Legislación, Casos, Criminology, Criminal Justice, Cases - Ayuda Legal PRProvee información relacionada a temas legales que abarcan derecho de familia, inmigración, género, educación, herencias, etc.
Temas: Leyes, Law, Puerto Rico - FindLawProvee acceso a fuentes de información de leyes federales por estado.
Temas: Derecho, Leyes, Justicia Criminal, Justicia, Criminología, Law, Legislation,
Legislación, Casos , Jurisprudencia, Criminology, Justice, Criminal Justice, Cases,
Jurisprudence
Sitios web
- Bureau of Labor Statistics This link opens in a new window Provee acceso a datos estadísticos sobre empleo incluye Puerto Rico. Temas: Empleo, Trabajo, Economía, Economy, Employment, Labor, Human Resources, Recursos Humanos
- Cámara de Comercio de Puerto Rico Provee información sobre la Cámara de Comercio de Puerto Rico. Desde la sección de publicaciones se puede acceder a los informes anuales. Temas: Negocios, Administración, Administración de Empresas, Management Business, Comercio, Commerce
- Departamento del Trabajo y Recursos Humanos de PR Sitio web del Departamento de Recursos Humanos del Gobierno de Puerto Rico. Provee acceso a información que rige la práctica laboral en PR tales como leyes, reglamentos, decretos, normas del trabajo, protocolos y mucho más. Temas: Recursos Humanos, Administración, Administración de Empresas, Management, Human Resources
- Free Management Library Provee acceso a información variada en temas de administración, comercio, gerencia, finanzas, negocios, recursos humanos y seguros. Temas: Contabilidad, Finanzas, Negocios, Mercadeo, Empresarismo, Recursos Humanos, Administración, Administración de Empresas, Accounting, Administration, Business, Finance, Marketing, Labor, Human Resources, Comercio, Commerce, Seguros, Insurance, Management, Gerencia, Entrepreneurship
- GEM: Global Entrepreneurship Monitor Provee acceso a informes, datos estadísticos y perfiles sobre administración y desarrollo empresarial. Temas: Negocios, Empresarismo, Administración, Administración de Empresas Administration, Business, Comercio, Commerce, Entrepreneurship
- Registro de Corporaciones y Entidades de Puerto Rico Base de datos para localizar y registrar corporaciones, organizaciones y entidades en Puerto Rico. Este servicio lo desarrolla y mantiene el Departamento de Estado de Puerto RIco. Temas: Negocios Puerto Rico Business ONG ONG's
- Registro de Marcas y Nombres Comerciales Base de datos para identificar y registrar marcas y nombres comerciales en Puerto Rico. Este sitio lo desarrolla y mantiene el Departamento de Estado de Puerto Rico. Temas: Negocios, Business, Marketing, Marcas, Marcas Registradas, Trademarks