Toxicología Forense
Introducción a los fundamentos de la toxicología forense, así como estrategias, metodologías y técnicas más apropiadas para el análisis de muestras de interés médico-legal en casos de muerte causados por alguna sustancia con potencial tóxico.
Bibliografía recomendada
Toxicología
Forensic Toxicology by
Modern technology using state-of-the-art equipment can now identify almost any toxin relevant to a legal issue. Techniques include gas chromatography, mass spectrometry, high-pressure liquid chromatography, and the combination of these methods. Forensic Toxicology: Medico-legal Case Studies demonstrates how the science of forensic toxicology acts as a bridge between medicine and law. Tracking the progression of toxicology findings from the laboratory to the courtroom, it prepares practicing toxicologists to write reports and testify at depositions and in court. The book explains the organization of clinical laboratories and includes sections on accreditation, quality control, method validation, and other critical topics. It provides an overview of the U.S. legal system, describes the process of writing a toxicology report, and offers techniques for deposition and courtroom testimony. Covering a broad range of topics, the book offers detailed analysis of situations ranging from the rare and unusual to those that toxicologists most often confront, including: Determining serum/blood ethanol levels Ethylene glycol poisoning Plant and animal toxins Alcohol intoxication and breathalyzer tests Synergistic effects of alcohol and drugs Prescription drug overdose Toxic torts Workers' compensation issues Written in an accessible and well-organized style, this volume is an essential guide for forensic toxicologists at all levels who need to understand how to best present the science of toxicology in the forensic arena.
ISBN: 9781439866818Publication Date: 2012
Principles of Toxicology by
A fully updated and expanded edition of the bestselling guide on toxicology and its practical application * Covers the diverse chemical hazards encountered in the modern work and natural environment, and provides a practical understanding of these hazards * New chapters cover the emerging areas of toxicology such as omics, computational toxicology, and nanotoxicology * Provides clear explanations and practical understanding of the fundamentals necessary for an understanding of the effects of chemical hazards on human health and ecosystems * Includes case histories and examples from industry demonstrate the application of toxicological principles * Supplemented with numerous illustrations to clarify and summarize key points, annotated bibliographies, and a comprehensive glossary of toxicological terms
ISBN: 9781118982488Publication Date: 2014
Fundamental Toxicology for Chemists by
This book is a core introductory text to the subject of toxicology and the use of toxicological information for risk assessment by chemists. Increasingly, chemists are being required by law to advise on the safe handling of chemicals. Few chemists, however, have been trained in toxicology, and the subject is often not covered in a chemistry degree curriculum. It is to address this problem that this book has been written. Fundamental Toxicology for Chemists contains a proposed curriculum for teaching toxicology to chemists, which gives a firm grounding in the basics. With this book as a guide, lecturers will be able to design courses that cover all their students needs. In addition, students in all areas of chemistry will find it invaluable. Fundamental Toxicology for Chemists offers a unique assessment of the subject specifically for chemists. It is both comprehensible and fully comprehensive, covering developing areas such as reproduction, behavioural and ecological toxicology. The book has been approved by the IUPAC (International Union of Pure and Applied Chemists) committees on toxicology and the teaching of chemistry. It has a comprehensive index and an extensive glossary of terms, and will have lasting value to all chemists as a reference, and a text book.
ISBN: 9781847550941Publication Date: 2007
Fundamental Toxicology by
This book is a core introductory text to the subject of toxicology and the use of toxicological information for risk assessment by chemists. Increasingly, chemists are being required by law to advise on the safe handling of chemicals. Few chemists, however, have been trained in toxicology, and the subject is often not covered in a chemistry degree curriculum. It is to address this problem that this book has been written. Fundamental Toxicology for Chemists contains a proposed curriculum for teaching toxicology to chemists, which gives a firm grounding in the basics. With this book as a guide, lecturers will be able to design courses that cover all their students needs. In addition, students in all areas of chemistry will find it invaluable. Fundamental Toxicology for Chemists offers a unique assessment of the subject specifically for chemists. It is both comprehensible and fully comprehensive, covering developing areas such as reproduction, behavioural and ecological toxicology. The book has been approved by the IUPAC (International Union of Pure and Applied Chemists) committees on toxicology and the teaching of chemistry. It has a comprehensive index and an extensive glossary of terms, and will have lasting value to all chemists as a reference, and a text book.
ISBN: 9781847552648Publication Date: 2007
Absorción, Distribución, Metabolismo y Eliminación (ADME)
Predictive ADMET by
This book helps readers integrate in silico, in vitro, and in vivo ADMET (absorption, distribution, metabolism, elimination and toxicity) and PK (pharmacokinetics) data with routine testing applications so that pharmaceutical scientists can diagnose ADMET problems and present appropriate recommendations to move drug discovery programs forward. The book introduces the current clinical practice for drug discovery and development along with the impact on early risk assessment; consolidates the tools and models to intelligently integrate existing in silico, in vitro and in vivo ADMET data; and demonstrates successful cases and lessons learned from real drug discovery and development. In short, it is a book aimed to provide a practical road map for drug discovery and development scientists to generate efficacious and safe drugs for unmet medical needs.
ISBN: 9781118783306Publication Date: 2014
ADME-Enabling Technologies in Drug Design and Development by
A comprehensive guide to cutting-edge tools in ADME research The last decade has seen tremendous progress in the development of analytical techniques such as mass spectrometry and molecular biology tools, resulting in important advances in drug discovery, particularly in the area of absorption, distribution, metabolism, and excretion (ADME). ADME-Enabling Technologies in Drug Design and Development focuses on the current state of the art in the field, presenting a comprehensive review of the latest tools for generating ADME data in drug discovery. It examines the broadest possible range of available technologies, giving readers the information they need to choose the right tool for a given application, a key requisite for obtaining favorable results in a timely fashion for regulatory filings. With over thirty contributed chapters by an international team of experts, the book provides: A thorough examination of current tools, covering both electronic/mechanical technologies and biologically based ones Coverage of applications for each technology, including key parameters, optimal conditions for intended results, protocols, and case studies Detailed discussion of emerging tools and techniques, from stem cells and genetically modified animal models to imaging technologies Numerous figures and diagrams throughout the text Scientists and researchers in drug metabolism, pharmacology, medicinal chemistry, pharmaceutics, toxicology, and bioanalytical science will find ADME-Enabling Technologies in Drug Design and Development an invaluable guide to the entire drug development process, from discovery to regulatory issues.
ISBN: 9781118180747Publication Date: 2012
Drug-Like Properties: Concepts, Structure Design and Methods by
Of the thousands of novel compounds that a drug discovery project team invents and that bind to the therapeutic target, typically only a fraction of these have sufficient ADME/Tox properties to become a drug product. Understanding ADME/Tox is critical for all drug researchers, owing to its increasing importance in advancing high quality candidates to clinical studies and the processes of drug discovery. If the properties are weak, the candidate will have a high risk of failure or be less desirable as a drug product. This book is a tool and resource for scientists engaged in, or preparing for, the selection and optimization process. The authors describe how properties affect in vivo pharmacological activity and impact in vitro assays. Individual drug-like properties are discussed from a practical point of view, such as solubility, permeability and metabolic stability, with regard to fundamental understanding, applications of property data in drug discovery and examples of structural modifications that have achieved improved property performance. The authors also review various methods for the screening (high throughput), diagnosis (medium throughput) and in-depth (low throughput) analysis of drug properties. Serves as an essential working handbook aimed at scientists and students in medicinal chemistry Provides practical, step-by-step guidance on property fundamentals, effects, structure-property relationships, and structure modification strategies Discusses improvements in pharmacokinetics from a practical chemist's standpoint
ISBN: 9780080557618Publication Date: 2010
Preclinical Development Handbook: ADME and Biopharmaceutical Properties by
A clear, straightforward resource to guide you through preclinical drug development Following this book's step-by-step guidance, you can successfully initiate and complete critical phases of preclinical drug development. The book serves as a basic, comprehensive reference to prioritizing and optimizing leads, dose formulation, ADME, pharmacokinetics, modeling, and regulations. This authoritative, easy-to-use resource covers all the issues that need to be considered and provides detailed instructions for current methods and techniques. Each chapter is written by one or more leading experts in the field. These authors, representing the many disciplines involved in preclinical toxicology screening and testing, give you the tools needed to apply an effective multidisciplinary approach. The editor has carefully reviewed all the chapters to ensure that each one is thorough, accurate, and clear. Among the key topics covered are: * Modeling and informatics in drug design * Bioanalytical chemistry * Absorption of drugs after oral administration * Transporter interactions in the ADME pathway of drugs * Metabolism kinetics * Mechanisms and consequences of drug-drug interactions Each chapter offers a full exploration of problems that may be encountered and their solutions. The authors also set forth the limitations of various methods and techniques used in determining the safety and efficacy of a drug during the preclinical stage. This publication should be readily accessible to all pharmaceutical scientists involved in preclinical testing, enabling them to perform and document preclinical safety tests to meet all FDA requirements before clinical trials may begin.
ISBN: 9780470249024Publication Date: 2008
Basic Principles of Drug Discovery and Development by
Basic Principles of Drug Discovery and Development presents the multifaceted process of identifying a new drug in the modern era, providing comprehensive explanations of enabling technologies such as high throughput screening, structure based drug design, molecular modeling, pharmaceutical profiling, and translational medicine, all areas that have become critical steps in the successful development of marketable therapeutics. The text introduces the fundamental principles of drug discovery and development, also discussing important drug targets by class, in vitro screening methods, medicinal chemistry strategies in drug design, principles in pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics, animal models of disease states, clinical trial basics, and selected business aspects of the drug discovery process. It is designed to enable new scientists to rapidly understand the key fundamentals of drug discovery, including pharmacokinetics, toxicology, and intellectual property." Provides a clear explanation of how the pharmaceutical industry works Explains the complete drug discovery process, from obtaining a lead, to testing the bioactivity, to producing the drug, and protecting the intellectual propertyIdeal for anyone interested in learning about the drug discovery process and those contemplating careers in the industry Explains the transition process from academia or other industries
ISBN: 9780124115255Publication Date: 2015
Novel Psychoactive Substances by
Novel Psychoactive Substances: Classification, Pharmacology and Toxicology provides readers with background on the classification, detection, supply and availability of novel psychoactive substances, otherwise known as "legal highs." This book also covers individual classes of novel psychoactive substances that have recently emerged onto the recreational drug scene and provides an overview of the pharmacology of the substance followed by a discussion of the acute and chronic harm or toxicity associated with the substance. Written by international experts in the field, this multi-authored book is a valuable reference for scientists, clinicians, academics, and regulatory and law enforcement professionals. Includes chapters written by international experts in the field. Provides a comprehensive look at the classification, detection, availability and supply of novel psychoactive substances, in addition to the pharmacology and toxicology associated with the substance. Offers a single source for all interested parties working in this area, including scientists, academics, clinicians, law enforcement and regulatory agencies. Provides a full treatment of novel psychoactive substances that have recently emerged onto the recreational drug scene including mephedrone and the synthetic cannabinoid receptors in 'spice' / 'K2'.
ISBN: 9780124159112Publication Date: 2013
Análisis toxicológico
Biomarkers in Toxicology by
Biomarkers in Toxicology is a timely and comprehensive reference dedicated to all aspects of biomarkers that relate to chemical exposure and their effects on biological systems. This book includes both vertebrate and non-vertebrate species models for toxicological testing and development of biomarkers. Divided into several key sections, this reference volume contains chapters devoted to topics in molecular-cellular toxicology, as well as a look at the latest cutting-edge technologies used to detect biomarkers of exposure and effects. Each chapter also contains several references to the current literature and important resources for further reading. Given this comprehensive treatment, Biomarkers in Toxicology is an essential reference for all those interested in biomarkers across several scientific and biomedical fields. Written by international experts who have evaluated the expansive literature to provide you with one resource covering all aspects of toxicology biomarkers Identifies and discusses the most sensitive, accurate, unique and validated biomarkers used as indicators of exposure and effect of chemicals of different classes Covers special topics and applications of biomarkers, including chapters on molecular toxicology biomarkers, biomarker analysis for nanotoxicology, development of biomarkers for drug efficacy evaluation and much more
ISBN: 9780124046498Publication Date: 2014
Análisis instrumental
Handbook of Trace Evidence Analysis by
Covers new trace evidence techniques and expanding areas of analysis, along with key theory and applications Developed around the need for updated information in the disciplines of trace evidence the Handbook of Trace Evidence Analysis focuses on the increasing awareness and need for validation, modern methods for addressing and controlling contamination, the shift towards incorporating statistical analyses into the interpretation phase and cutting edge research into new forensic science methods and their application. Beginning with an overview of the topic and discussing the important role that information derived from trace materials can provide during investigations, the book then presents chapters on key techniques. The first being the critical nature of microscopy, and the methods employed for the recognition, collection, and preservation of trace evidence. Subsequent chapters review the core disciplines of trace evidence examination: paints and polymers, hairs, fibers and textiles and glass. Each chapter contains in-depth discussions on the origin of the materials involved, including any natural or synthetic processes involved in their production, the nuances involved in their detection, and the methods of analysis that are used to extract valuable information from samples. In addition, suggested workflows in method and testing selections, as well as addressing specific scientific challenges as well as the limitations of knowledge on the transfer, persistence and background abundance of trace materials are discussed. The book ends by examining the interpretation of trace evidence findings from a historical perspective and examining the methods that are currently being developed. Provides an in-depth introduction to the general area of trace evidence and discusses current and new techniques Consolidates trace evidence and materials categories of testing into one reference series Offers a detailed focus on technical approaches and guidelines to trace evidence Includes analytical schemes/workflows and valuable guides for the interpretation of data and results The Handbook of Trace Evidence will appeal to forensic science academics, students, and practitioners in the trace evidence and materials science disciplines, as well as DNA analysts, toxicologists, forensic anthropologists, crime laboratory managers, criminal justice students and practitioners, and legal professionals. It would also be a valuable resource for every crime laboratory reference library.
ISBN: 9781118962107Publication Date: 2020
Mass Spectrometry by
With contributions from noted experts from Europe and North America, Mass Spectrometry Instrumentation, Interpretation, and Applications serves as a forum to introduce students to the whole world of mass spectrometry and to the many different perspectives that each scientific field brings to its use. The book emphasizes the use of this important analytical technique in many different fields, including applications for organic and inorganic chemistry, forensic science, biotechnology, and many other areas. After describing the history of mass spectrometry, the book moves on to discuss instrumentation, theory, and basic applications.
ISBN: 9780470395806Publication Date: 2008
Basic Gas Chromatography by
Basic Gas Chromatography, Third Edition provides a brief introduction to GC following the objectives for titles in this series. It should appeal to readers with varying levels of education and emphasizes a practical, applied approach to the subject. : This book provides a quick need-to-know introduction to gas chromatography; still the most widely used instrumental analysis technique, and is intended to assist new users in gaining understanding quickly and as a quick reference for experienced users. The new edition provides updated chapters that reflect changes in technology and methodology, especially sample preparation, detectors and multidimensional chromatography. The book also covers new detectors recently introduced and sample preparation methods that have become much more easily accessible since the previous edition.
ISBN: 9781119450733Publication Date: 2019
Ultra-High Performance Liquid Chromatography and Its Applications by
Explores both the benefits and limitations of new UHPLC technology High performance liquid chromatography (HPLC) has been widely used in analytical chemistry and biochemistry to separate, identify, and quantify compounds for decades. The science of liquid chromatography, however, was revolutionized a few years ago with the advent of ultra-high performance liquid chromatography (UHPLC), which made it possible for researchers to analyze sample compounds with greater speed, resolution, and sensitivity. Ultra-High Performance Liquid Chromatography and Its Applications enables readers to maximize the performance of UHPLC as well as develop UHPLC methods tailored to their particular research needs. Readers familiar with HPLC methods will learn how to transfer these methods to a UHPLC platform and vice versa. In addition, the book explores a variety of UHPLC applications designed to support research in such fields as pharmaceuticals, food safety, clinical medicine, and environmental science. The book begins with discussions of UHPLC method development and method transfer between HPLC and UHPLC platforms. It then examines practical aspects of UHPLC. Next, the book covers: Coupling UHPLC with mass spectrometry Potential of shell particles in fast liquid chromatography Determination of abused drugs in human biological matrices Analyses of isoflavones and flavonoids Therapeutic protein characterization Analysis of illicit drugs The final chapter of the book explores the use of UHPLC in drug metabolism and pharmacokinetics studies for traditional Chinese medicine. With its frank discussions of UHPLC's benefits and limitations, Ultra-High Performance Liquid Chromatography and Its Applications equips analytical scientists with the skills and knowledge needed to take full advantage of this new separation technology.
ISBN: 9781118533994Publication Date: 2013
Bases de datos de apoyo a Ciencias Forenses
- Biological Database This link opens in a new windowProvee acceso a artículos en temas de biología y ciencias en general.
Temas: Ciencias, Biología, Ciencias Biológicas, Science, Biology, Biological Science, General Science, Human Biology, Biologia Humana, Microbiología, Microbiology - ChemRxviProvee acceso amplia gama de prepublicaciones (preprints= versión de un artículo académico o científico que precede a la revisión formal entre pares y a la publicación en una revista académica o científica) en diferentes campos de la química.
Temas: Ciencias Naturales, Ciencias Biológicas, Química, Science, Biological Science, Chemistry - Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new windowProvee acceso a artículos de investigación en temas relacionados a Justicia Criminal:
Temas: Ciencias Sociales, Crimen, Criminalidad, Justicia Criminal, Justicia, Seguridad, Violencia, Terrorismo, Violencia Escolar, Sociología, Tecnología, Psicología, Criminología, Corrupción, Social Science, Sociology, Crime, Criminology, Justice, Criminal Justice, Substance Abuse, Toxicology, Drugs, Abuso de Sustancias, Drogas, Security, Delincuencia, Offenders, Offender, Delinquency, Violence, Ofensores, Ofensor, Violence Against Women, Violencia de Género, Violencia Contra la Mujer, Terrorism, Delincuentes, Fire Arms, Armas de Fuego, Shooter, Active shooter, School Violence, Sexual Offender, Ofensor Sexual, Violencia Doméstica, Corruption, Psychology, Social Work, Trabajo social, Forensics,
Ciencias forenses, Human trafficking - Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest creó esta base de datos en respuesta a la creciente necesidad de contenido autorizado relacionado con el nuevo coronavirus (COVID-19).
Temas: Salud, Salud Mental, Salud Pública, Health, Public Health, Mental Health - Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) This link opens in a new windowEl Directory of Open Access Books es un servicio que provee acceso gratuito a libros digitales en diversos idiomás y materias.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new windowEl Directory of Open Access Journals es un servicio que provee acceso gratuito a revistas cientiicas y academicas en diversos idiomás y materias.
- Dialnet This link opens in a new windowDialnet es uno de los mayores portales bibliográficos del mundo, cuyo principal cometido es dar mayor visibilidad a la literatura científica hispana.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowBase de datos bibliográfica multidisciplinaria. Provee acceso a la información bibliográfica y en ocasíones el texto completo de artículos, documentos, libros, tesis y disertaciones.
- Redalyc This link opens in a new windowRedalyc incluye revistas científicas de los países de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal.
- SciELO :scientific electronic library online This link opens in a new windowBase de datos de revistas científicas de Iberoamérica