Diccionarios
The Penguin Dictionary of Biology by
Worried about your maternal effect or biological clock? Need to know a rhizoid from a rhizome? Think you're going to fail your zoology or botany exam? The Penguin Dictionary of Biology is your saviour, defining some 6000 terms relating to this rich, complex and constantly expanding subject - from amino acids, bacteria and the cell cycle to X-ray diffraction, Y chromosome and zygotes. Long established as the definitive single-volume source, this dictionary has sold over 200,000 copies and is extensively updated for its eleventh edition.
ISBN: 9780141013961Publication Date: 2004
The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology by
The over 10,000 entries in this comprehensive Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology provide clear and concise definitions for anyone working in life sciences today. It incorporates related terms from neuroscience, genetics, microbiology, immunology, pathology, and physiology. This fourth revised edition reflects the enormous changes brought about by the explosion of new technologies, especially high throughput approaches and functional genomics. As a result, this edition is over 30% larger than the previous edition, with 3400 new entries. As with the prior edition, additions are reflective of online search queries performed by users of the dictionary. The entries in this authoritative work have been widely praised for their clarity, brevity, and accuracy throughout. The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology features numerous tables and other useful features. * Thoroughly revised and expanded by over 30% with 3400 new entries * Expanded coverage of areas greatly impacted by genomics * Includes new terms that relate to the recent elucidation of underlying mechanisms of cell cycle regulation, apoptosis, relationship between mitochondria and disease, metabolic control, and stem cell biology * Consistently provides the most complete short definitions of technical terminology for anyone working in life sciences today * Extensively cross-referenced * Provides multiple definitions, notes on word origins, and other useful features
ISBN: 9780080550343Publication Date: 2007
Enciclopedias
Gale Encyclopedia of Science by
This eight-volume set covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology. Consisting of alphabetically arranged entries, it provides a user-friendly format that makes the broad scope of information easy to access and decipher. Entries typically describe scientific concepts, provide overviews of scientific subjects and define terms. Longer entries conclude with a bibliography. The 5th edition has been completely updated and includes more than 75 new entries on key scientific topics in the news, including: DNA databanks, Crime Scene Investigations, Internet Search Engines, Podcasts, Weapons of Mass Destruction, Wireless Communications and much more. *Alphabetically arranged entries and full color photos provide a user-friendly format that makes the broad scope of information easy to access and decipher. *Entries typically describe scientific concepts, provide overviews of scientific subjects, and define terms. *Each entry concludes with a bibliography.
ISBN: 9781414498492Publication Date: 2014Biology by The 439 A-Z entries cover biological concepts, the history of science, such critical issues as embryogenesis and the commercial applications of research, ethical issues, and careers in biology, serving as a broad introduction to the many facets of biology. More than 60 entries are brand new and almost three times as many entries are substantially revised and updated; all entries have been reviewed for currency. This edition highlights advances in biology that have taken place since the beginning of the 21st century and topics of contemporary interest, including molecular genetics, biotechnology, human physiology, biodiversity, and ecology. Biographical sidebars feature scientists who have made significant contributions to their fields. The writing level makes accurate information accessible to a high school audience. Full-color photographs, diagrams, and sidebars add visual interest. More than 600 terms are defined in the margins of the pages where they appear and compiled into a convenient glossary at the back of each volume. Each entry contains a bibliography/suggestions for further reading. A thematic outline provides a guide to entries by subject. Handy references in the front matter include a geologic time scale and metric conversion table.
ISBN: 9780028663722Publication Date: 2016
World of Microbiology and Immunology
This title in the popular "World of...Series is a comprehensive, subject-specific, two-volume encyclopedic guide that covers the concepts, theories, discoveries and pioneers in microbiology and immunology for students, researchers, teachers and librarians. Included are 650 alphabetically arranged and cross-referenced topical and biographical entries.
ISBN: 0787665401Publication Date: 2002
Body Systems by
Body Systems covers the 14 systems of the human body and their role and functions both from an individual organ perspective and each system as a whole, as well as what occurs when systems are not functioning properly due to injury, disease, or other causes. Entries cover the development of each body system from birth to full adult growth, as well as adjustments by the body during the senior years. There is also information on common diseases related to specific systems (causes and treatments) and the effects of substances on body systems, including foods and drugs, as well as full-color detailed illustrations of all body systems.
ISBN: 9781573027182Publication Date: 2014
Genetics
This title covers the full spectrum of this most important science. Major themes include: Inheritance, from Mendel to the present Genes and chromosomes, with full exploration of how genes work in the cell Genetic diseases, including hemophilia, cystic fibrosis, and more than a dozen other common and well-known genetic disorders, plus how genes influence cancer, mental illness, and other complex disorders Biotechnology, with special emphasis on lab techniques now in in many high school classes, including eletrophoresis, restriction enzymes, and gene cloning Ethical, legal, and social issues, including genetically modified foods and cloning History of genetics, with both biographies and histories of major themes in genetics Careers
ISBN: 0028656067Publication Date: 2002
