Serología Forense y Tecnología de ADN
Teoría de la búsqueda, recolección, preservación e identificación de la evidencia que se recoge en forma de sangre y fluidos del cuerpo, como manchas secas o húmedas. Determinación del grupo sanguíneo y del tipo de ADN en la muestra. Análisis y caracterización del ADN mediante electroforesis. Redacción de un certificado de análisis de serología forense.
Bibliografía recomendada
Weight-Of-Evidence for Forensic DNA Profiles by
DNA evidence is widely used in the modern justice system. Statistical methodology plays a key role in ensuring that this evidence is collected, interpreted, analysed and presented correctly. This book is a guide to assessing DNA evidence and presenting that evidence in a courtroom setting. It offers practical guidance to forensic scientists with little dependence on mathematical ability, and provides the scientist with the understanding they require to apply the methods in their work. Since the publication of the first edition of this book in 2005 there have been many incremental changes, and one dramatic change which is the emergence of low template DNA (LTDNA) profiles. This second edition is edited and expanded to cover the basics of LTDNA technology. The author's own open-source R code likeLTD is described and used for worked examples in the book. Commercial and free software are also covered.
ISBN: 9781118814543Publication Date: 2015
Advanced Topics in Forensic DNA Typing: Methodology by
Intended as a companion to the Fundamentals of Forensic DNA Typing volume published in 2009, Advanced Topics in Forensic DNA Typing: Methodology contains 18 chapters with 4 appendices providing up-to-date coverage of essential topics in this important field and citation to more than 2800 articles and internet resources. The book builds upon the previous two editions of John Butler's internationally acclaimed Forensic DNA Typing textbook with forensic DNA analysts as its primary audience. This book provides the most detailed information written to-date on DNA databases, low-level DNA, validation, and numerous other topics including a new chapter on legal aspects of DNA testing to prepare scientists for expert witness testimony. Over half of the content is new compared to previous editions. A forthcoming companion volume will cover interpretation issues. Contains the latest information - hot-topics and new technologies Well edited, attractively laid out, and makes productive use of its four-color format Author John Butler is ranked as the number one "high-impact author in legal medicine and forensic science, 2001 to 2011" by ScienceWatch.com
ISBN: 9780123878236Publication Date: 2011
Advanced Topics in Forensic DNA Typing: Interpretation by
Advanced Topics in Forensic DNA Typing: Interpretation builds upon the previous two editions of John Butler's internationally acclaimed Forensic DNA Typing textbook with forensic DNA analysts as its primary audience. Intended as a third-edition companion to the Fundamentals of Forensic DNA Typing volume published in 2010 and Advanced Topics in Forensic DNA Typing: Methodology published in 2012, this book contains 16 chapters with 4 appendices providing up-to-date coverage of essential topics in this important field. Over 80 % of the content of this book is new compared to previous editions. Provides forensic DNA analysts coverage of the crucial topic of DNA mixture interpretation and statistical analysis of DNA evidence Worked mixture examples illustrate the impact of different statistical approaches for reporting results Includes allele frequencies for 24 commonly used autosomal STR loci, the revised Quality Assurance Standards which went into effect September 2011
ISBN: 9780124058545Publication Date: 2014
Human Blood Groups by
Human Blood Groups is a comprehensive and fully referenced text covering both the scientific and clinical aspects of red cell surface antigens, including: serology, inheritance, biochemistry, molecular genetics, biological functions and clinical significance in transfusion medicine. Since the last edition, seven new blood group systems and over 60 new blood group antigens have been identified. All of the genes representing those systems have now been cloned and sequenced. This essential new information has made the launch of a third edition of Human Blood Groups, now in four colour, particularly timely. This book continues to be an essential reference source for all those who require clinical information on blood groups and antibodies in transfusion medicine and blood banking.
ISBN: 9781118493625Publication Date: 2013
Essential Guide to Blood Groups by
Essential Guide to Blood Groups is the only pocket sized guide to provide essential information on blood group systems. The main aim of the blood transfusion laboratory is to promote safe blood transfusion. The avoidance of errors, from sample receipt and laboratory testing through to the release of blood for transfusion, is of paramount importance. Knowledge of immunohaematology theory and its application to blood transfusion together with the principles of good laboratory practice are essential. This handbook helps to address these important issues and also covers: * the serology, inheritance, biochemistry, and molecular genetics of the most important blood group systems * their clinical importance * techniques used in blood grouping, troubleshooting, and quality assurance This unique and practical guide: * is written by leaders in the field, including the author of the best seller Human Blood Groups * provides the basic knowledge of blood groups needed by all those working in the important fields of transfusion medicine and science. * helps in resolving commonly encountered problems Essential Guide to Blood Groups will be valuable for undergraduate medical laboratory scientists and for postgraduate scientists and medical practitioners training to specialise in transfusion and transplantation. As a pocket edition, it will also be a useful addition to other reference works on blood groups for quick access to information for medical practitioners and in red cell immunohaematology laboratories.
ISBN: 9781118688908Publication Date: 2013
La prueba penal de ADN a través de la jurisprudencia: una visión práctica y crítica by ISBN: 9788490205082Publication Date: 2016
Forensic DNA Biology: A Laboratory Manual by
DNA typing has revolutionized criminal investigations and has become a powerful tool in the identification of individuals in criminal and paternity cases. Forensic DNA Biology: A Laboratory Manual is comprised of up-to-date and practical experiments and step-by-step instructions on how to perform DNA analysis, including pipetting, microscopy and hair analysis, presumptive testing of body fluids and human DNA typing. Modern DNA typing techniques are provided, reflecting real life, where not all institutions and crime labs can afford the same equipment and software. Real case studies will be used throughout. Provides practical step-by-step instruction on how to perform forensic DNA analysis Includes analysis of hair, presumptive testing of body fluids, human DNA typing and statistics Covers techniques such as pipetting, microscopy and DNA extraction Pre- and post-lab exercises and questions assist the reader in learning the material Report writing templates assure the reader learns real world crime lab procedure
ISBN: 9780123948335Publication Date: 2012
La prueba de ADN e intervenciones corporales en la investigación penal by ISBN: 9788490904022Publication Date: 2019
A Guide to Forensic DNA Profiling by
A Guide to Forensic DNA Profiling A Guide to Forensic DNA Profiling The increasingly arcane world of DNA profiling demands that those requiring to understand at least some of it must find a source of reliable and understandable information. Combining material from the successful Wiley Encyclopedia of Forensic Science with newly commissioned and updated material, the Editors have used their own extensive experience in criminal casework across the world to compile an informative guide that will provide knowledge and thought-provoking articles of interest to anyone involved or interested in the use of DNA in the forensic context. Following extensive introductory chapters covering forensic DNA profiling and forensic genetics, this comprehensive volume presents a substantial breadth of material covering: Fundamental material--including sources of DNA, validation, and accreditation Analysis and interpretation--including extraction, quantification, amplification, and interpretation of electropherograms (epgs) Evaluation--including mixtures, low template, and transfer Applications--databases, paternity and kinship, mitochondrial DNA, wildlife DNA, single-nucleotide polymorphism, phenotyping, and familial searching Court--report writing, discovery, cross examination, and current controversies With contributions from leading experts across the whole gamut of forensic science, this volume is intended to be authoritative but not authoritarian, informative but comprehensible, and comprehensive but concise. It will prove to be a valuable addition, and a useful resource, for scientists, lawyers, teachers, criminologists, and judges.
ISBN: 9781118751510Publication Date: 2016
DNA and the Criminal Justice System by
Is DNA technology the ultimate diviner of guilt or the ultimate threat to civil liberties? Over the past decade, DNA has been used to exonerate hundreds and to convict thousands. Its expanded use over the coming decade promises to recalibrate significantly the balance between collective security and individual freedom. For example, it is possible that law enforcement DNA databases will expand to include millions of individuals not convicted of any crime. Moreover, depending on what rules govern access, such databases could also be used for purposes that range from determining paternity to assessing predispositions to certain diseases or behaviors. Thus the use of DNA technology will involve tough trade-offs between individual and societal interests. This book, written by a distinguished group of authors including U.S. Supreme Court Justice Stephen Breyer, explores the ethical, procedural, and economic challenges posed by the use of DNA evidence as well as future directions for the technology. After laying the conceptual historical, legal, and scientific groundwork for the debate, the book considers bioethical issues raised by the collection of DNA, including the question of control over DNA databases. The authors then turn to the possible genetic bases of human behavior and the implications of this still-unresolved issue for the criminal justice system. Finally, the book examines the current debate over the many roles that DNA can and should play in criminal justice.
ISBN: 9780262310604Publication Date: 2004
Dried Blood Spots by
An informative and comprehensive book on the applications and techniques of dried blood spot sampling Dried blood spot (DBS) sampling involves the collection of a small volume of blood, via a simple prick or other means, from a study subject onto a cellulose or polymer paper card, which is followed by drying and transfer to the laboratory for analysis. For many years, this method of blood sample collection has been extensively utilized in some important areas of human healthcare (for example, newborn screening for inherited metabolic disorders and HIV-related epidemiological studies). Because of its advantages over conventional blood, plasma, or serum sample collection, DBS sampling has been valued by the pharmaceutical industry in drug research and development. Dried Blood Spots: Applications and Techniques features contributions from an international team of leading scientists in the field. Their contributions present a unique resource on the history, principles, procedures, methodologies, applications, and emerging technologies related to DBS. Presented in three parts, the book thoroughly examines: Applications of DBS sampling and associated procedures and methodologies in various human healthcare studies Applications and perspectives of DBS sampling in drug research and development, and therapeutic drug monitoring New technologies and emerging applications related to DBS sampling and analysis Dried Blood Spots: Applications and Techniques is a valuable working guide for researchers, professionals, and students in healthcare, medical science, diagnostics, clinical chemistry, and pharmaceuticals, etc.
ISBN: 9781118890905Publication Date: 2014
Truth Machine by
DNA profiling--commonly known as DNA fingerprinting--is often heralded as unassailable criminal evidence, a veritable "truth machine" that can overturn convictions based on eyewitness testimony, confessions, and other forms of forensic evidence. But DNA evidence is far from infallible. Truth Machine traces the controversial history of DNA fingerprinting by looking at court cases in the United States and United Kingdom beginning in the mid-1980s, when the practice was invented, and continuing until the present. Ultimately, Truth Machine presents compelling evidence of the obstacles and opportunities at the intersection of science, technology, sociology, and law.
ISBN: 9780226498089Publication Date: 2010
DNA and Property Crime Scene Investigation by
Traditionally, forensic investigation has not been fully utilized in the investigation of property crime. This ground-breaking book examines the experiences of patrol officers, command staff, detectives, and chiefs as they navigate the expectations of forensic evidence in criminal cases, specifically property crimes cases. DNA and Property Crime Scene Investigation looks at the current state of forensic technology and, using interviews with police officers, command staff, forensic technicians, and prosecutors, elucidates who is doing the work of forensic investigation. It explores how better training can decrease backlogs in forensic evidence processing and prevent mishandling of crucial evidence. Concluding with a police chief's perspective on the approach, DNA and Property Crime Scene Investigation provides insight into an emerging and important approach to property crime scene investigation. Key Features Provides practical information on implementing forensic investigation for property crimes Examines the current state of forensic technology and points to future trends Includes a police chief's perspective on the forensic approach to investigating property crimes Utilizes interviews with professionals in the field to demonstrate the benefits of the approach
ISBN: 9781315721699Publication Date: 2015
Bloodstain Pattern Evidence by
In Bloodstain Pattern Evidence, the concepts introduced in the author's first book, Blood Dynamics, are updated and applied to provide essential answers in the resolution of actual crimes. The book is accessible to all levels of investigators, regardless of academic background, and allows readers to develop a fundamental understanding of the underlying scientific principles behind bloodstain pattern evidence. Bloodstain Pattern Evidence builds on the fundamental ideas brought about by an understanding of Non-Newtonian dynamics, and illustrates through case work the practical forensic science applications of these principles to the analysis of bloodstain patterns. Extensive case examples provide practical application of essential pattern analysis principles Extensively illustrated with over 350 photos and line drawings Takes a unique and scientific approach to bloodstain pattern analysis by exploring the fundamentals of fluid behavior
ISBN: 9780080549712Publication Date: 2011
Bases de datos de apoyo a Ciencias Forenses
- Biological Database This link opens in a new windowProvee acceso a artículos en temas de biología y ciencias en general.
Temas: Ciencias, Biología, Ciencias Biológicas, Science, Biology, Biological Science, General Science, Human Biology, Biologia Humana, Microbiología, Microbiology - ChemRxviProvee acceso amplia gama de prepublicaciones (preprints= versión de un artículo académico o científico que precede a la revisión formal entre pares y a la publicación en una revista académica o científica) en diferentes campos de la química.
Temas: Ciencias Naturales, Ciencias Biológicas, Química, Science, Biological Science, Chemistry - Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new windowProvee acceso a artículos de investigación en temas relacionados a Justicia Criminal:
Temas: Ciencias Sociales, Crimen, Criminalidad, Justicia Criminal, Justicia, Seguridad, Violencia, Terrorismo, Violencia Escolar, Sociología, Tecnología, Psicología, Criminología, Corrupción, Social Science, Sociology, Crime, Criminology, Justice, Criminal Justice, Substance Abuse, Toxicology, Drugs, Abuso de Sustancias, Drogas, Security, Delincuencia, Offenders, Offender, Delinquency, Violence, Ofensores, Ofensor, Violence Against Women, Violencia de Género, Violencia Contra la Mujer, Terrorism, Delincuentes, Fire Arms, Armas de Fuego, Shooter, Active shooter, School Violence, Sexual Offender, Ofensor Sexual, Violencia Doméstica, Corruption, Psychology, Social Work, Trabajo social, Forensics,
Ciencias forenses, Human trafficking - Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest creó esta base de datos en respuesta a la creciente necesidad de contenido autorizado relacionado con el nuevo coronavirus (COVID-19).
Temas: Salud, Salud Mental, Salud Pública, Health, Public Health, Mental Health - Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) This link opens in a new windowEl Directory of Open Access Books es un servicio que provee acceso gratuito a libros digitales en diversos idiomás y materias.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new windowEl Directory of Open Access Journals es un servicio que provee acceso gratuito a revistas cientiicas y academicas en diversos idiomás y materias.
- Dialnet This link opens in a new windowDialnet es uno de los mayores portales bibliográficos del mundo, cuyo principal cometido es dar mayor visibilidad a la literatura científica hispana.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowBase de datos bibliográfica multidisciplinaria. Provee acceso a la información bibliográfica y en ocasíones el texto completo de artículos, documentos, libros, tesis y disertaciones.
- Redalyc This link opens in a new windowRedalyc incluye revistas científicas de los países de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal.
- SciELO :scientific electronic library online This link opens in a new windowBase de datos de revistas científicas de Iberoamérica