Investigación Forense I
Este curso estudia los principios y procedimientos fundamentales utilizados para esclarecer delitos. Se analizará la escena del crimen y se estudiará la identificación, recolección, preservación, transportación y análisis de evidencia física, según establecido por las reglas de evidencia. Se analizarán delitos específicos enfatizando en aquellos que involucren muerte
Bibliografía recomendada
Criminal Investigation by
Criminal investigation is an essential topic, running through the new national policing curriculum from volume crime to serious organised criminality. This book provides accessible and comprehensive coverage, with case studies and examples to embed understanding, clear links between theory and practice, and a range of critical thinking and review activities. It examines investigation from inception to conclusion, detailing methods, explaining legal requirements and reflecting on past investigations. The contributory roles of specialists and forensic support are examined to provide an inclusive overview of the whole investigative process. The Professional Policing Curriculum in Practice is a new series of books that match the requirements of the new pre-join policing qualifications. The texts reflect modern policing, are up-to-date and relevant, and grounded in practice. They reflect the challenges faced by new students, linking theory to real-life operational practice, while addressing critical thinking and other academic skills needed for degree-level study.
ISBN: 9781914171505Publication Date: 2022
Investigación Criminal by
La delincuencia actual conforma un mosaico muy variado de conductas ilícitas con naturalezas y génesis diversas. Los delitos como el terrorismo, el crimen organizado, la cibercriminalidad, la delincuencia económica, la corrupción o los delitos sexuales o de género presentan niveles de complejidad dispares que demandan la especialización, actualización y tecnificación de las unidades encargadas de la investigación criminal para actuar con eficacia y eficiencia. La investigación criminal es el proceso a través del cual los especialistas reconstruyen los hechos acontecidos y aportan las pruebas de culpabilidad que permitirán al juez establecer la responsabilidad penal. En este proceso, se utilizan diversas técnicas y procedimientos de obtención de indicios e información que permitirán reconstruir los hechos con la mayor fiabilidad posible. En Investigación criminal. Principios, técnicas y aplicaciones, un grupo de expertos procedentes de las unidades de investigación criminal de élite y procedentes del ámbito académico describen y analizan las diferentes técnicas de investigación existentes, sus fundamentos y aplicaciones a los diversos ámbitos delincuenciales, así como sus limitaciones para los retos criminales actuales.
ISBN: 9788483564844Publication Date: 2015
Crime Scene Forensics by
Bridging the gap between practical crime scene investigation and scientific theory, Crime Scene Forensics: A Scientific Method Approach maintains that crime scene investigations are intensely intellectual exercises that marry scientific and investigative processes. Success in this field requires experience, creative thinking, logic, and the correct
ISBN: 9781439897737Publication Date: 2011
Crime Reconstruction by
Crime Reconstruction is a guide to the interpretation of physical evidence. It was developed to aid forensic reconstructionists with the formulation of hypotheses and conclusions that stay within the known limits of forensic evidence. The book begins with chapters on the history and ethics of crime reconstruction, and then shifts to the more applied subjects of general reconstruction methods and practice standards. It concludes with chapters on courtroom conduct and evidence admissibility, to prepare forensic reconstructionists for what awaits them when they take the witness stand. This book is a watershed collaborative effort by internationally known, qualified, and respected forensic science practitioners with generations of case experience. Forensic pioneers such as John D. DeHaan, John I. Thornton, and W. Jerry Chisum contribute chapters on arson reconstruction, trace evidence interpretation, advanced bloodstain interpretation, and reconstructionist ethics. Other chapters cover the subjects of shooting incident reconstruction, interpreting digital evidence, staged crime scenes, and examiner bias. Rarely have so many forensic giants collaborated, and never before have the natural limits of physical evidence been made so clear. This book is ideal for forensic examiners, forensic scientists, crime lab personnel, and special victim and criminal investigators. Others who will benefit from this book are law enforcement officials, forensic medical personnel, and criminal lawyers. * Contains the first practice standards ever published for the reconstruction of crime * Provides a clear ethical canon for the reconstructionist * Includes groundbreaking discussions of examiner bias and observer effects as they impact forensic evidence interpretation * Ideal for applied courses on the subject of crime reconstruction, as well as those teaching crime reconstruction theory within criminology and criminal justice programs
ISBN: 9780080465517Publication Date: 2006
Techniques of Crime Scene Investigation by
"If you are a Professional Crime Scene Investigator, then this book is a must have for both your personal forensic reference library, as well as your office reference library."Edward W. Wallace Jr., Certified Senior Crime Scene Analyst, Retired First Grade Detective, NYPD"Techniques of Crime Scene Investigation is a well-written, comprehensive gu
ISBN: 9781439810064Publication Date: 2012
Forensic Intelligence by
When forensic recoveries are properly processed and recorded, they are a major intelligence source for crime investigators and analysts. The majority of publications about forensic science cover best practices and basic advice about evidence recovery and storage. Forensic Intelligence takes the subject of forensics one step further and describes how to use the evidence recovered at crime scenes for extended analysis and the dissemination of new forensic intelligence. The book draws on the author's 40 years of experience as a crime scene examiner, latent print examiner, and the Head of Forensic Intelligence, New Scotland Yard, in the London Metropolitan Police Intelligence Bureau (MIB). It supplies practical advice on how to use all forensic recoveries in a modern, analysis-driven, intelligence-led policing environment. The text covers evidentiary procedures related to each of the main crime types, as well as the production of intelligence products from police data. Accompanying the book is a supplemental CD-ROM with a plethora of additional resources, including Treadmark Express footwear evidence software; exemplar templates for the input of forensics, behaviours, and method data into intelligence systems; and other material. This reliable resource is designed for police services of all sizes and capabilities--from the largest organizations with thousands of employees and big budgets down to the smallest department with a few officers. By mastering the basic crime recording and intelligence processes in this volume, investigators can make the best use of all their forensic recoveries. CD ROM Contents: Treadmark Express Footwear Evidence Software and User's Manual Operation Bigfoot Footwear Pattern Distribution Graphs (London 2005) Example CSI Forensic Intelligence Template Shoe and tool Marks Coding Document Report on the Vision of Forensic Intelligence and Strategic Thinking A Unified Format Spreadsheet for Merging Drug Legacy Data from Different Forensic Science Laboratories Forensic Intelligence Report (FIR) Template Role Description Example-Forensic Intelligence Manager Footwear Intelligence Process Map Ballistics Intelligence Process Map-Inputs & Outputs
ISBN: 9781439860380Publication Date: 2012
Forensic Photography by
Forensic photography plays a vitally important part in the investigation of crime and the subsequent administration of justice. Written by a practitioner with many years professional experience, this book provides an overview of the most common forensic photography techniques in use today for those readers who may not have a detailed understanding of camera techniques and who need to get to grips with the use of light and other key scientific aspects of the job. It covers image capture issues, file handling and relevant equipment, such as lasers and UV lights, and explores how they work. The predominance of the digital camera has resulted in an increasing trend for police forces across the world to use untrained camera users, rather than expert photographers. Therefore, this book will prove invaluable for those practitioners who need to produce accurate and clear photographic evidence, above and beyond the point and shoot mode on their cameras.
ISBN: 9781119975823Publication Date: 2014
Fingerprint Development Techniques by
A comprehensive review of the latest fingerprint development and imaging techniques With contributions from leading experts in the field, Fingerprint Development Techniques offers a comprehensive review of the key techniques used in the development and imaging of fingerprints. It includes a review of the properties of fingerprints, the surfaces that fingerprints are deposited on, and the interactions that can occur between fingerprints, surfaces and environments. Comprehensive in scope, the text explores the history of each process, the theory behind the way fingerprints are either developed or imaged, and information about the role of each of the chemical constituents in recommended formulations. The authors explain the methodology employed for carrying out comparisons of effectiveness of various development techniques that clearly demonstrate how to select the most effective approaches. The text also explores how techniques can be used in sequence and with techniques for recovering other forms of forensic evidence. In addition, the book offers a guide for the selection of fingerprint development techniques and includes information on the influence of surface contamination and exposure conditions. This important resource: Provides clear methodologies for conducting comparisons of fingerprint development technique effectiveness Contains in-depth assessment of fingerprint constituents and how they are utilized by development and imaging processes Includes background information on fingerprint chemistry Offers a comprehensive history, the theory, and the applications for a broader range of processes, including the roles of each constituent in reagent formulations Fingerprint Development Techniques offers a comprehensive guide to fingerprint development and imaging, building on much of the previously unpublished research of the Home Office Centre for Applied Science and Technology.
ISBN: 9781119992615Publication Date: 2018
Lee and Gaensslen's Advances in Fingerprint Technology by
Reflecting new discoveries in fingerprint science, Lee and Gaensslen's Advances in Fingerprint Technology, Third Edition has been completely updated with new material and nearly double the references contained in the previous edition. The book begins with a detailed review of current, widely used development techniques, as well as some older, historical methods. Next, it describes more recent advances as well as novel, emerging technologies that have just begun to reach maturity. Highlights in this edition include: Comprehensive details about work performed by the UK Home Office on the use of powders and brushes Advances in the area of blood reagents, and the transition from previously carcinogenic peroxidase reagents to new and safer protein staining methods The vacuum metal deposition technique The cyanoacrylate fuming process An update on ninhydrin analogs Emerging trends in print development using nanotechnology Latent print recovery and decontamination at scenes tainted by chemical, biological, radiological, nuclear, and explosive materials A model for quantitatively interpreting and assessing minutiae in a print Methods for digital and chemical imaging of latent prints With contributions by a renowned group of leading forensic scientists and criminalistics experts, this valuable work presents the latest progress in fingerprint technologies, comparison, and identification.
ISBN: 9781420088342Publication Date: 2012
Forensic Ballistics in Court by
Forensic Ballistics in Court: Interpretation and Presentation of Firearms Evidence is an accessible introduction to firearms and ballistics evidence and how this is analysed and presented as evidence in a court of law. The book approaches the subject in terms of the realities of case work, opening with a clear and illustrated explanation of the correct nomenclature for various weapon types and their parts. Ammunition is also extensively covered, again with annotated illustrations. Basic external and terminal ballistics, wounding capabilities are likewise covered to give an overview of the subject. A key aspect of the book covers the theory and philosophy behind striation matches and the associated statistics, how positive matches should be peer reviewed and the importance accreditation has on this subject. Gunshot residue formation and identification and the various methods used in its analysis are reviewed in depth. This includes a critical examination of the pros and cons of each type of examination and the evidential weight which can be applied to each method. Accessible and reader-friendly introduction to firearms and ballistics. Clarifies the limitations of firearms evidence. Extensive use of global case-studies throughout. Focus on the interpretation and assessment of the weight of firearms/ballistics evidence presented at court. Covers the importance of witness and accused statements and their interpretation in relation to the investigation under review. Includes coverage of gunshot residue collection, examination and interpretation and the potential for contamination of GSR samples. Includes numerous real life case studies that the author has dealt with over the past 45 years. Takes an applied approach to the subject.
ISBN: 9781118505014Publication Date: 2013
Handbook of Digital Forensics of Multimedia Data and Devices by
Digital forensics and multimedia forensics are rapidly growing disciplines whereby electronic information is extracted and interpreted for use in a court of law. These two fields are finding increasing importance in law enforcement and the investigation of cybercrime as the ubiquity of personal computing and the internet becomes ever-more apparent. Digital forensics involves investigating computer systems and digital artefacts in general, while multimedia forensics is a sub-topic of digital forensics focusing on evidence extracted from both normal computer systems and special multimedia devices, such as digital cameras. This book focuses on the interface between digital forensics and multimedia forensics, bringing two closely related fields of forensic expertise together to identify and understand the current state-of-the-art in digital forensic investigation. Both fields are expertly attended to by contributions from researchers and forensic practitioners specializing in diverse topics such as forensic authentication, forensic triage, forensic photogrammetry, biometric forensics, multimedia device identification, and image forgery detection among many others. Key features: Brings digital and multimedia forensics together with contributions from academia, law enforcement, and the digital forensics industry for extensive coverage of all the major aspects of digital forensics of multimedia data and devices Provides comprehensive and authoritative coverage of digital forensics of multimedia data and devices Offers not only explanations of techniques but also real-world and simulated case studies to illustrate how digital and multimedia forensics techniques work Includes a companion website hosting continually updated supplementary materials ranging from extended and updated coverage of standards to best practice guides, test datasets and more case studies
ISBN: 9781118705780Publication Date: 2015
Electronic Crime Scene Investigation by
This book is intended to assist State and local law enforcement and other first responders who may be responsible for preserving an electronic crime scene and for recognising, collecting, and safeguarding digital evidence. It is not all inclusive but addresses situations encountered with electronic crime scenes and digital evidence. All crime scenes are unique and the judgement of the first responder, agency protocols, and prevailing technology should all be considered when implementing the information in this guide. First responders to electronic crime scenes should adjust their practices as circumstances -- including level of experience, conditions, and available equipment -- warrant. The circumstances of individual crime scenes and Federal, State, and local laws may dictate actions or a particular order of actions other than those described in this guide. First responders should be familiar with all the information in this guide and perform their duties and responsibilities as circumstances dictate. This is an edited and excerpted edition of a U.S. Dept. of Justice publication.
ISBN: 9781606922965Publication Date: 2008
Bases de datos de apoyo a Ciencias Forenses
- Biological Database This link opens in a new windowProvee acceso a artículos en temas de biología y ciencias en general.
Temas: Ciencias, Biología, Ciencias Biológicas, Science, Biology, Biological Science, General Science, Human Biology, Biologia Humana, Microbiología, Microbiology - ChemRxviProvee acceso amplia gama de prepublicaciones (preprints= versión de un artículo académico o científico que precede a la revisión formal entre pares y a la publicación en una revista académica o científica) en diferentes campos de la química.
Temas: Ciencias Naturales, Ciencias Biológicas, Química, Science, Biological Science, Chemistry - Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new windowProvee acceso a artículos de investigación en temas relacionados a Justicia Criminal:
Temas: Ciencias Sociales, Crimen, Criminalidad, Justicia Criminal, Justicia, Seguridad, Violencia, Terrorismo, Violencia Escolar, Sociología, Tecnología, Psicología, Criminología, Corrupción, Social Science, Sociology, Crime, Criminology, Justice, Criminal Justice, Substance Abuse, Toxicology, Drugs, Abuso de Sustancias, Drogas, Security, Delincuencia, Offenders, Offender, Delinquency, Violence, Ofensores, Ofensor, Violence Against Women, Violencia de Género, Violencia Contra la Mujer, Terrorism, Delincuentes, Fire Arms, Armas de Fuego, Shooter, Active shooter, School Violence, Sexual Offender, Ofensor Sexual, Violencia Doméstica, Corruption, Psychology, Social Work, Trabajo social, Forensics,
Ciencias forenses, Human trafficking - Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest creó esta base de datos en respuesta a la creciente necesidad de contenido autorizado relacionado con el nuevo coronavirus (COVID-19).
Temas: Salud, Salud Mental, Salud Pública, Health, Public Health, Mental Health - Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) This link opens in a new windowEl Directory of Open Access Books es un servicio que provee acceso gratuito a libros digitales en diversos idiomás y materias.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new windowEl Directory of Open Access Journals es un servicio que provee acceso gratuito a revistas cientiicas y academicas en diversos idiomás y materias.
- Dialnet This link opens in a new windowDialnet es uno de los mayores portales bibliográficos del mundo, cuyo principal cometido es dar mayor visibilidad a la literatura científica hispana.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowBase de datos bibliográfica multidisciplinaria. Provee acceso a la información bibliográfica y en ocasíones el texto completo de artículos, documentos, libros, tesis y disertaciones.
- Redalyc This link opens in a new windowRedalyc incluye revistas científicas de los países de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal.
- SciELO :scientific electronic library online This link opens in a new windowBase de datos de revistas científicas de Iberoamérica