Balística de Armas de Fuego
Se discuten los retos, métodos y análisis en las ciencias forenses desde una perspectiva del análisis instrumental. Se enfatiza el análisis de drogas y de sustancias asociadas a incendios premeditados, el análisis de documentos, muestras de residuos de pintura y residuos de armas de fuego, usando las principales técnicas e instrumentos del análisis químico, incluyendo cromatografía de gas y espectrometría de masa (gc/ms), cromatografía de capa fina (tlc), espectrofotometría ultravioleta-visible (uv-vis), espectrofotometría infrarroja de transformada fourier (ft-ir) y cromatografía liquida de alta ejecutoria (hplc). Se realiza la detección de alcohol mediante la prueba del aliento.
Bibliografía recomendada
Forensic Ballistics in Court by
Forensic Ballistics in Court: Interpretation and Presentation of Firearms Evidence is an accessible introduction to firearms and ballistics evidence and how this is analysed and presented as evidence in a court of law. The book approaches the subject in terms of the realities of case work, opening with a clear and illustrated explanation of the correct nomenclature for various weapon types and their parts. Ammunition is also extensively covered, again with annotated illustrations. Basic external and terminal ballistics, wounding capabilities are likewise covered to give an overview of the subject. A key aspect of the book covers the theory and philosophy behind striation matches and the associated statistics, how positive matches should be peer reviewed and the importance accreditation has on this subject. Gunshot residue formation and identification and the various methods used in its analysis are reviewed in depth. This includes a critical examination of the pros and cons of each type of examination and the evidential weight which can be applied to each method. Accessible and reader-friendly introduction to firearms and ballistics. Clarifies the limitations of firearms evidence. Extensive use of global case-studies throughout. Focus on the interpretation and assessment of the weight of firearms/ballistics evidence presented at court. Covers the importance of witness and accused statements and their interpretation in relation to the investigation under review. Includes coverage of gunshot residue collection, examination and interpretation and the potential for contamination of GSR samples. Includes numerous real life case studies that the author has dealt with over the past 45 years. Takes an applied approach to the subject.
ISBN: 9781118505014Publication Date: 2013
Shooting Incident Reconstruction by
Shooting Incident Reconstruction is based on the authors' numerous years of conducting courses and seminars on the subject of shooting incident reconstruction. It seeks to thoroughly address matters from simple to complex in order to provide the reader with an explanation of the factors surrounding ballistics, trajectory, and shooting scenes. The ultimate objectives of this unique book are to assist investigators, crime scene analysts, pathologists, ballistics experts, and lawyers to understand the terminology, science, and factors involved in reconstructing shooting incident events to solve forensic cases. The book covers a full range of related topics, including the range from which a firearm was discharged; the sequence of shots in a multiple discharge shooting incident; the position of a firearm at the moment of discharge; the position of a victim at the moment of impact; the probable flight path of a projectile; the manner by which a firearm was discharged, and much more. It contains over 100 diagrams and photographs, many in full-color, that support and illustrate key concepts. - Written by one of the most well-respected shooting scene and ballistics experts in the world- Contains over 100 diagrams and photographs, many in full-color, that support and illustrate key concepts- Case studies illustrate real-world application of technical concepts
ISBN: 9780080480893Publication Date: 2006-01-06
Ballistic Imaging by
Ballistic Imaging assesses the state of computer-based imaging technology in forensic firearms identification. The book evaluates the current law enforcement database of images of crime-related cartridge cases and bullets and recommends ways to improve the usefulness of the technology for suggesting leads in criminal investigations. It also advises against the construction of a national reference database that would include images from test-fires of every newly manufactured or imported firearm in the United States. The book also suggests further research on an alternate method for generating an investigative lead to the location where a gun was first sold: "microstamping," the direct imprinting of unique identifiers on firearm parts or ammunition.
ISBN: 9780309117241Publication Date: 2008
Cartridges and Firearm Identification by
At a time when crime scene television shows are all the rage amongst the civilian population, knowledge of firearm forensics is of paramount importance to crime scene analysts, police detectives, and attorneys for both the prosecution and the defense. Cartridges and Firearm Identification brings together a unique, multidisciplined approach to quest
ISBN: 9781466502079Publication Date: 2012
Their Arrows Will Darken the Sun by
The science of ballistics has a long history and starts with one question: How does a projectile move through the air? Even before physicists worked that one out, military engineers had been tinkering with ballistic devices for centuries. The trebuchet of the Middle Ages has given way to rocket power, and the science of ballistics has evolved to match the technology. Mark Denny's survey covers this dynamic subject from prehistory to the weapons of tomorrow. Taking the bang-whiz-thud approach, Denny first talks about internal ballistics--Bang!--from before gunpowder to the development of modern firearms. External ballistics--Whiz!--are next, with discussions about short- and long-range trajectories. Denny's lesson ends with a Thud!--an explanation of terminal ballistics. Throughout, Denny conveys applicable physics principles in a way that will appeal to technology buffs and ballistics enthusiasts alike. His fun and factual explanations are free of complicated equations; notes cover the key aspects of ballistics physics for the more technically inclined. Denny has perfected this engaging balance of science and story. For study or hobby, Their Arrows Will Darken the Sun is an entertaining guide to the world of ballistics.
ISBN: 9780801898570Publication Date: 2011
Firearms, the Law and Forensic Ballistics by
This book offers a work of reference on the forensic science of firearms. It describes what happens when a weapon is fired in terms of internal, external and terminal, or wound, ballistics and the consequences of these happenings for the forensic scientist both at the scene of the shooting incident and in the laboratory. The role of the forensic sc
ISBN: 9780748404322Publication Date: 1996
Bases de datos de apoyo a Ciencias Forenses
- Biological Database This link opens in a new windowProvee acceso a artículos en temas de biología y ciencias en general.
Temas: Ciencias, Biología, Ciencias Biológicas, Science, Biology, Biological Science, General Science, Human Biology, Biologia Humana, Microbiología, Microbiology - ChemRxviProvee acceso amplia gama de prepublicaciones (preprints= versión de un artículo académico o científico que precede a la revisión formal entre pares y a la publicación en una revista académica o científica) en diferentes campos de la química.
Temas: Ciencias Naturales, Ciencias Biológicas, Química, Science, Biological Science, Chemistry - Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new windowProvee acceso a artículos de investigación en temas relacionados a Justicia Criminal:
Temas: Ciencias Sociales, Crimen, Criminalidad, Justicia Criminal, Justicia, Seguridad, Violencia, Terrorismo, Violencia Escolar, Sociología, Tecnología, Psicología, Criminología, Corrupción, Social Science, Sociology, Crime, Criminology, Justice, Criminal Justice, Substance Abuse, Toxicology, Drugs, Abuso de Sustancias, Drogas, Security, Delincuencia, Offenders, Offender, Delinquency, Violence, Ofensores, Ofensor, Violence Against Women, Violencia de Género, Violencia Contra la Mujer, Terrorism, Delincuentes, Fire Arms, Armas de Fuego, Shooter, Active shooter, School Violence, Sexual Offender, Ofensor Sexual, Violencia Doméstica, Corruption, Psychology, Social Work, Trabajo social, Forensics,
Ciencias forenses, Human trafficking - Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest creó esta base de datos en respuesta a la creciente necesidad de contenido autorizado relacionado con el nuevo coronavirus (COVID-19).
Temas: Salud, Salud Mental, Salud Pública, Health, Public Health, Mental Health - Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) This link opens in a new windowEl Directory of Open Access Books es un servicio que provee acceso gratuito a libros digitales en diversos idiomás y materias.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new windowEl Directory of Open Access Journals es un servicio que provee acceso gratuito a revistas cientiicas y academicas en diversos idiomás y materias.
- Dialnet This link opens in a new windowDialnet es uno de los mayores portales bibliográficos del mundo, cuyo principal cometido es dar mayor visibilidad a la literatura científica hispana.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowBase de datos bibliográfica multidisciplinaria. Provee acceso a la información bibliográfica y en ocasíones el texto completo de artículos, documentos, libros, tesis y disertaciones.
- Redalyc This link opens in a new windowRedalyc incluye revistas científicas de los países de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal.
- SciELO :scientific electronic library online This link opens in a new windowBase de datos de revistas científicas de Iberoamérica