Introducción a las Ciencias Policiales
El curso estudia la evolución, estructura y funcionamiento de las modernas organizaciones policíacas. El papel de la policía en una sociedad democrática y las relaciones entre la policía y la sociedad. A través del curso los estudiantes conocerán el origen del concepto, la evolución y el papel de la policía en la sociedad. A través de una serie de conferencias, trabajos escritos y la preparación de un portafolio los estudiantes conocerán, analizarán y reflexionarán sobre las funciones del policía, su formación y socialización; los elementos y características de la personalidad policíaca; y la importancia de las relaciones con la comunidad.
Prontuario del curso
Texto del curso
Fundamentos de las Ciencias de Seguridad para el Siglo XXI: Una Perspectiva Post Moderna by Call Number: PR 352.379 O875f 2019ISBN: 9781641313001Publication Date: 2019Ejemplar disponible en formato impreso (físico) en la Colección de Reserva de la BIblioteca.
Ciencias policiales
Police and Policing by
An ideal introduction for police recruits, criminal justice practitioners, criminologists and general readers. Written in a clear style and based on the experiences of author Peter Villiers who was for many years a tutor at the National Police Staff College, Bramshill. A convenient handbook for anyone wanting an accessible yet thought-provoking account of a key public institution. Covers such key topics as The nature and purposes of policing A short history The 'original authority' of police constables Police forces and police authorities Detective work Squads, teams, units and operations Training and leadership Crime prevention and crime reduction Forensics, science and technology Powers of arrest, detention and charge Ethics, discipline and integrity Common standards and values Protection of the public Terrorism (including modern-day powers) The Serious Organized Crime Agency Police community support officers Corruption and the use of 'deception' Policing in the era of human rights Interpol and Europol Examples of policing from abroad Also contains a Glossary of Words, Phrases, Acronyms and Abbreviations and a Timeline. Reviews 'This book will be a valuable text because it covers the broad varying aspects of policing and investigation, providing a very useful insight. The author is certainly not reluctant to state his own views and I am of the view that this will provide a catalyst for productive discussion': Dr Peter Hall, Coventry University. 'An authoritative account of the historical development and contemporary practice of police work. It will provide useful insights into policing to students pursuing academic courses in Higher Education and will be of considerable use and interest to those considering policing as a career as well as to serving practitioners': Policing Today 'A substantial introduction to Policing ... will offer any potential recruit an opportunity to discuss and debate before he/she commences learning Police law with its all-important definitions and Powers of Arrest': Internet Law Book Reviews 'A valuable text because it covers the broad varying aspects of policing and investigation, providing a very useful insight. The author is certainly not reluctant to state his own views and I am of the view that this will provide a catalyst for productive discussion': Dr Peter Hall, Coventry University 'A good informative book, explaining policy to practice': John Rotherham, St Helens College 'Very well structured. Liked the Glossary and Timeline. Excellent historical base': Ann Kneebone, Truro and Penwith College Author Peter Villiers is a police adviser and consultant, editor of the international website journal Ethics in Policing and an occasional columnist for Police Review. He lectured at the Police Staff College, Bramshill from 1986 to 2004 on ethics, leadership and human rights, including to police officers from across the United Kingdom and around the world. He has written two earlier books for Waterside Press: Police Leadership in the 21st Century: Philosophy, Doctrine and Developments (2003) and Policing A Safe, Just and Tolerant Society: An International Model for Policing (2004)(both with Dr. Robert Adlam). He is also the author of a range of further works on policing, ethics, human rights and leadership.
ISBN: 9781904380467Publication Date: 2009
Police Work by
This book provides a highly readable account of police work. It builds upon Introduction to Police Work (Rogers and Lewis 2007) to provide a comprehensive, in depth and critical understanding of policing in today's diverse society. Police Work: Principles and Practice meets the need for an increasingly sophisticated and professional approach to training within the police, whether this is carried out within police forces themselves or within higher education institutions. Written in an accessible style by current and former police practitioners and a nationally recognized expert on the National Intelligence Model, this book focusesnbsp;- in line with the government's agenda for workforce modernizationnbsp;- on three key areas of policing: community, investigation and intelligence. It introduces readers to many important areas through the use of definition boxes, scenario boxes highlighting good practice, points to note boxes, flowcharts and diagrams as well as a wide range of questions and exercises to help apply their knowledge to different situations and scenarios. This book will be essential reading for those on probationer training programmes and a valuable resource for students taking courses in policing and criminology more generally where an advanced level of understanding of the nature of police work is required.
ISBN: 9780203816677Publication Date: 2011
Police and Law Enforcement by
From its beginnings in England as a constabulary, intended only to keep the peace rather than to make arrests, policing has had a tumultuous, controversial history. The police represent an essential law enforcement entity to some, while others see police officers as often corrupt, prone to unfair racial profiling, and quick to use unnecessary force. Police and Law Enforcement examines many aspects of policing in society, including their common duties, legal regulations on those duties, problematic policing practices, and alternatives to traditional policing. Topics in this volume include such hotly debated topics as accountability, arrest practices, bounty hunters, entrapment, Miranda warnings, police privatization, profiling, vigilantes, and zero-tolerance policing. The 20 chapters present the most hotly contested debates and offer solutions to potential and perceived problems. The Series: The five brief, issues-based books in SAGE Reference's Key Issues in Crime & Punishment Series offer examinations of controversial programs, practices, problems or issues from varied perspectives. Volumes correspond to the five central subfields in the Criminal Justice curriculum: Crime & Criminal Behavior, Policing, The Courts, Corrections, and Juvenile Justice. Each volume consists of approximately 20 chapters offering succinct pron examinations, and Recommended Readings conclude each chapter, highlighting different approaches to or perspectives on the issue at hand. As a set, these volumes provide perfect reference support for students writing position papers in undergraduate courses spanning the Criminal Justice curriculum.
ISBN: 9781452266428Publication Date: 2011
Security by
Today, threats to the security of an organization can come from a variety of sources- from outside espionage to disgruntled employees and internet risks to utility failure. Reflecting the diverse and specialized nature of the security industry, Security: An Introduction provides an up-to-date treatment of a topic that has become increasingly comple
ISBN: 9781439894569Publication Date: 2016
Policía y sociedad
Hard Cop, Soft Cop by
This is a book about policing styles in the broadest sense, looking at zero tolerance policing at one extreme and 'softer' approaches to policing at the other. It is particularly concerned to explore the dilemmas and moral ambiguities inherent in the tensions between different policing approaches. Rather than seeking to juxtapose 'hard' and 'soft' policing styles the guiding thread of the book is the notion that policing is both pervasive and insidious. Different policing styles, whether conducted by the public police service, private security or social work agencies, are all part of a multi-agency corporate crime control industry which provides the essential context for an understanding of these different approaches.
ISBN: 9781843924531Publication Date: 2013
Policía comparada
Comparative Policing by
How do police forces around the world move toward democratization of their operations and responses? Analyzing police forces from 12 different countries, Comparative Policing: The Struggle for Democratization assesses the stages of each country based on the author′s development of a "Continuum of Democracy" scale. Using five basic themes, this book uses the following criteria to rank and evaluate where each country falls on the continuum, clarifying how policing practices differ: · History of a democratic form of government · Level of corruption within governmental organizations and the oversight mechanisms in place · Scope of and response to civil disobedience · Organization structures of police departments · Operational responses to terrorism and organized crime
ISBN: 9781412905473Publication Date: 2007
Bases de datos Justicia Criminal
- Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new windowProvee acceso a artículos de investigación en temas relacionados a Justicia Criminal
- Criminal Justice & Law Video Collection This link opens in a new windowcolección de Videos y documentales de corta duración en temas de criminología
- Ayuda Legal PRProvee información relacionada a temas legales que abarcan derecho de familia, inmigración, género, educación, herencias, etc.