Scientific Writing
Recommended for science majors and for all students who must use scientific materials. Reading and writing about a broad spectrum of scientific materials concentrating on writing technical reports. Practice in writing descriptive, theoretical, and analytical report with an emphasis on synthesizing information from scientific materials written by others.
Prontuario del curso
- Prontuario INGL 3236Scientific Writing
Libro de texto
Scientific Writing = Thinking in Words by
Telling people about research is just as important as doing it. But many researchers, who, in all other respects, are competent scientists, are afraid of writing. They are wary of the unwritten rules, the unspoken dogma and the inexplicably complex style, all of which seem to pervade conventional thinking about scientific writing. This book has been written to expose these phantoms as largely smoke and mirrors, and replace them with principles that make communicating research easier and encourage researchers to write confidently. It presents a way of thinking about writing that emulates the way good scientists think about research. It concentrates on the structure of articles, rather than simply on grammar and syntax. So, it is an ideal reference for researchers preparing articles for scientific journals, posters, conference presentations, reviews and popular articles; for students preparing theses; and for researchers whose first language is not English.Scientific Writing = Thinking in Words expounds principles that produce scientific articles in a wide range of disciplines that are focussed, concise and, best of all, easy to write and read. As one senior scientist observed, 'This book not only made me a better writer; it made me a better scientist'.
ISBN: 9780643101579Publication Date: 2011
Bibliografía recomendada
The Craft of Scientific Writing by
Designed to help both professional and student scientists and engineers write clearly and effectively, this text approaches the subject in a fresh way. Using scores of examples from a wide variety of authors and disciplines, the author - himself a writer and physicist -- demonstrates the difference between strong and weak scientific writing, and how to convey ideas to the intended audience. In addition, he gives advice on how to start writing, and how to revise drafts, including many suggestions about approaching a wide variety of tasks - from laboratory reports to grant proposals, from internal communications to press releases - as well as a concise guide to appropriate style and usage.
ISBN: 9781475724820Publication Date: 2013
Handbook of Scientific Proposal Writing by
Investigators, their home institutions, and funding agencies play significant roles in the development and outcomes of scientific projects. Submitting a proposal to a funding agency is only one dimension of a multivariable and complex funding process, and understanding this is a good first step toward unlocking the puzzle behind why some research p
ISBN: 9781439869208Publication Date: 2011
Scientific Writing by
This comprehensive and practical book covers the basics of grammar as well as the broad brush issues such as writing a grant application and selling to your potential audience. The clear explanations are expanded and lightened with helpful examples and telling quotes from the giants of good writing. These experienced writers and teachers make scientific writing enjoyable.
ISBN: 9780470716014Publication Date: 2013
Scientific Writing by
Given that scientific material can be hard to comprehend, sustained attention and memory retention become major reader challenges. Scientific writers must not only present their science, but also work hard to generate and sustain the interest of readers. Attention-getters, sentence progression, expectation-setting, and OC memory offloadersOCO are essential devices to keep readers and reviewers engaged. The writer needs to have a clear understanding of the role played by each part of a paper, from its eye-catching title to its eye-opening conclusion. This book walks through the main parts of a paper; that is, those parts which create the critical first impression. The unique approach in this book is its focus on the reader rather than the writer. Senior scientists who supervise staff and postgraduates can use the book to review drafts and to help with the writing as well as the science. Young researchers can find solid guidelines that reduce the confusion all new writers face. Published scientists can finally move from what feels right to what is right, identifying mistakes they thought were acceptable, and fully appreciating their responsibility: to guide the reader along carefully laid-out reading tracks."
ISBN: 9789812770424Publication Date: 2007
Scientific Writing 2. 0 by
The book helps scientists write papers for scientific journals. Using the key parts of typical scientific papers (Title, Abstract, Introduction, Visuals, Structure, and Conclusions), it shows through numerous examples, how to achieve the essential qualities required in scientific writing, namely being clear, concise, convincing, fluid, interesting, and organized. To enable the writer to assess whether these parts are well written from a reader''s perspective, the book also offers practical metrics in the form of six checklists, and even an original Java application to assist in the evaluation. The focus of the book is on self- and reader-assisted assessment of the scientific journal article. It is also the first time that a book on scientific writing takes a human factor view of the reading task and the reader scientist. By revealing and addressing the physiological causes that create substantial reading difficulties, namely limited reader memory, attention span, and patience, the book guarantees that writing will gain the much coveted reader-centered quality.
ISBN: 9789814350617Publication Date: 2011
Secrets to Writing Great Papers
Secrets to Writing Great Papers illustrates how to work with ideas--develop them, hone them, and transform them into words. It provides techniques and exercises for brainstorming, choosing the right approach, working with an unknown or boring assigned topic, overcoming writer's block, and selecting the best point of view.
ISBN: 9780299191443Publication Date: 2003
Writing and Evaluating Scientific Research in Communication Sciences and Disorders by
Writing Scientific Research in Communication Sciences and Disorders is a comprehensive guide to the preparation and publication of research papers for researchers in communication sciences and disorders. Individual chapters address the structure, content and style of the Introduction, Method, Results, and Discussion sections. The balance of the text is taken up with the writing process, including the nuts and bolts of preparing tables and graphs, detailed discussion of different voices and grammar issues, how to edit your own work, how to work with editors and peer reviewers, and how to get started and be a productive writer. Each topic is illustrated with informative examples, with a clear, direct, and often humorous discussion of what makes them good or bad. Writing is essential in nearly every profession and particularly in communication disorders and sciences, where researchers must be able to express complex ideas to a variety of audiences, from colleagues to members of health care teams to clients and family members. This is why competence in written expression is required for certification and entry into clinical practice in communication disorders and sciences. Writing Scientific Research in Communication Sciences and Disorders will be a valuable supplementary text for undergraduate and graduate students in courses that include writing assignments and critical assessment of research literature, such as research methods and evidence-based clinical methods courses, as well as in thesis and dissertation preparation. Researchers looking for a guide to help them improve their own writing will find it an invaluable resource to answer the big and little questions that constantly arise in preparing manuscripts.
ISBN: 9781597566148Publication Date: 2015
Writing and Presenting Scientific Papers by
This dynamic manual provides guidelines for written and oral scientific presentations, including how to effectively prepare and deliver papers and presentations, how to find reliable research, and how to write research proposals.
ISBN: 9781907284137Publication Date: 2003
Writing Effectively by
With 40 well structured and easy to follow topics to choose from, each workbook in this series has a wide range of case studies, questions and activities to meet both an individual or organization's training needs. Whether studying for an ILM qualification or looking to enhance the skills of your employees, Super Series provides solutions, frameworks and techniques to support management and leadership development.
ISBN: 9780750658836Publication Date: 2003
Writing Scientific Research Articles by
This book shows scientists how to apply their analysis and synthesis skills to overcoming the challenge of how to write, as well as what to write, to maximise their chances of publishing in international scientific journals. The book uses analysis of the scientific article genre to provide clear processes for writing each section of a manuscript, starting with clear 'story' construction and packaging of results. Each learning step uses practical exercises to develop writing and data presentation skills based on reader analysis of well-written example papers. Strategies are presented for responding to referee comments, and for developing discipline-specific English language skills for manuscript writing and polishing. The book is designed for scientists who use English as a first or an additional language, and for individual scientists or mentors or a class setting. In response to reader requests, the new edition includes review articles and the full range of research article formats, as well as applying the book's principles to writing funding applications. Web support for this book is available at www.writeresearch.com.au
ISBN: 9781118570661Publication Date: 2013
Diccionarios
- Cambridge DictionaryCambridge University Press has been publishing dictionaries for learners of English since 1995. Cambridge Dictionaries Online began offering these dictionaries completely free of charge in 1999 — and today, Cambridge Dictionary is still growing.
- Macmillan DictionaryThe award-winning Macmillan English Dictionary was first published in 2002 in both British English and American English. In 2009, the online version of the dictionary – MacmillanDictionary.com – was launched. This included a thesaurus, fully integrated into the entries. Since its launch Macmillan Dictionary has been frequently updated and contains a crowdsourced component called the Open Dictionary, which allows users to be part of the dictionary-writing enterprise and submit words and keep Macmillan Dictionary up to date.
- Merriam-Webster DictionaryMore than 75,000 updated definitions, pronunciations, word origins, synonym lists, and over 8,000 usage examples to aid understanding―more than ever before.