Pre-Basic English
This is a preparatory course designed to enable students who have scored 450 or less on the English part of the CEEB to successfully complete their English requirements by developing listening, speaking, reading and writing skills. It also aims to modify students’ attitudes toward the learning of English, easing the transition between high school and university level English courses.
Prontuario del curso
- Prontuario INGL 0080Pre-Basic English
Texto del curso
Basic English Grammar by ISBN: 9780130604347Publication Date: 1983Ejemplar en formato impreso (físico) disponible en la Colección de Reserva en la Biblioteca.
Bibliografía recomendada
The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation by
A revised and updated new edition of the bestselling workbook and grammar guide The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation is a concise, entertaining workbook and guide to English grammar, punctuation, and usage. This user-friendly resource includes simple explanations of grammar, punctuation, and usage; scores of helpful examples; dozens of reproducible worksheets; and pre- and post-tests to help teach grammar to students of all ages. Appropriate for virtually any age range, this authoritative guide makes learning English grammar and usage simple and fun. This updated Eleventh Edition reflects the latest updates to English usage and grammar and features a fully revised two-color design and lay-flat binding for easy photocopying. Clear and concise, easy-to-follow, offering "just the facts" Fully updated to reflect the latest rules in grammar and usage along with new quizzes Ideal for students from seventh grade through adulthood in the US and abroad For anyone who wants to understand the major rules and subtle guidelines of English grammar and usage, The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation offers comprehensive, straightforward instruction.
ISBN: 9781118790212Publication Date: 2014
Cuentos y ejercicios para aprender inglés by
El título de este libro contiene la palabra ejercicios. Se podría enunciar también como ejercicios lúdicos, e incluye también este título el término cuentos, en tanto que todos los ejercicios y actividades están basadas en dos cuentos originales del autor: THE BOY WHO HAD NEVER SEEN THE SEA (EL MUCHACHO QUE NO HABÍA VISTO EL MAR) y THE JUMP OVER THE KIOSK (EL SALTO DEL KIOSCO). La tercera expresión clave del título “para aprender inglés” nos evoca el objetivo principal de este conjunto de actividades: el aprendizaje del inglés. Este libro se explica por dos principios didácticos. Primero: las competencias lingüísticas, tanto en lengua materna como en la segunda lengua, hay que adquirirlas de forma práctica, mediante el ejercicio, las repeticiones, los reforzamientos comprensivos, etc. Segundo: si tales prácticas poseen un componente lúdico, tanto mejor, pues el juego forma parte consustancial del ser humano. En este sentido, Cuentos y ejercicios para aprender inglés constituye una fuente de actividades y “entretenimientos” para el aprendizaje de la lengua inglesa. El título de este libro contiene la palabra ejercicios. Se podría enunciar también como ejercicios lúdicos, e incluye también este título el término cuentos, en tanto que todos los ejercicios y actividades están basadas en dos cuentos originales del autor: THE BOY WHO HAD NEVER SEEN THE SEA (EL MUCHACHO QUE NO HABÍA VISTO EL MAR) y THE JUMP OVER THE KIOSK (EL SALTO DEL KIOSCO). La tercera expresión clave del título “para aprender inglés” nos evoca el objetivo principal de este conjunto de actividades: el aprendizaje del inglés. Este libro se explica por dos principios didácticos. Primero: las competencias lingüísticas, tanto en lengua materna como en la segunda lengua, hay que adquirirlas de forma práctica, mediante el ejercicio, las repeticiones, los reforzamientos comprensivos, etc. Segundo: si tales prácticas poseen un componente lúdico, tanto mejor, pues el juego forma parte consustancial del ser humano. En este sentido, Cuentos y ejercicios para aprender inglés constituye una fuente de actividades y “entretenimientos” para el aprendizaje de la lengua inglesa.
ISBN: 9788494374012Publication Date: 2015
English 1 (2a. ed.) by
Este libro busca desarrollar competencias de comunicación con el idioma inglés como segunda lengua del estudiante, desarrollando las habilidades lingüísticas que son hablar, escribir, escuchar y lectura de compresión. El libro pretende que los estudiantes recaben los conceptos más relevantes y los que hayan adquirido como habilidades de este idioma en la educación básica.
ISBN: 9786074385304Publication Date: 2015
English 2 (2a. ed.) by
Este libro busca desarrollar competencias de comunicación con el idioma inglés como segunda lengua del estudiante, desarrollando las habilidades lingüísticas que son hablar, escribir, escuchar y lectura de compresión. El objetivo general es que los estudiantes adquieran un nivel más elevando de competencia en el dominio de esta lengua.
ISBN: 9786074385786Publication Date: 2015
English 3 (2a. ed.) by
El libro comprende las secciones de la Serie Integral por competencias y cuenta con cuatro bloques: Situaciones de causa y efecto; Hábitos y rutinas realizadas en el pasado con los presentes; Comparas hábitos y costumbres, en las comunidades; Indicaciones y solicitudes. La obra cuenta con audio de las lecturas en la plataforma de la serie en la Web.
ISBN: 9786074385311Publication Date: 2015
English 4 (2a. ed.) by
El libro cuenta con las secciones Warm up, Evaluative formation, Demonstrate your competences, Learning situations Activity sequence, Rubrics, grammar presentation. Cuenta con cuatro bloques, y con Guía para el docente y audio de lecturas en los recursos didácticos en la WEB. • Apegado al programa DGB por competencias. • 250 ilustraciones a todo color. • Lecturas sobre Migración de las mariposas monarca, Halloween, Dilemas. • Vocabulario sobre deportes y actividades recreativas, géneros cinematográficos, tipos de comida. • Sólido apoyo gramatical.
ISBN: 9786074385793Publication Date: 2015
English Grammar by
English Grammar: * helps users to understand grammatical concepts * encourages the reader to practise applying newly discovered concepts to everyday texts * teaches students to analyze almost every word in any English text * provides teachers and students with a firm grounding in a system which they can both understand and apply.
ISBN: 9780203015469Publication Date: 2002
A Glossary of English Grammar by
A Glossary of English Grammarpresents a wide range of terms used to describe the way the English language is structured. Grammatical terms can be a problem for students, especially when there are alternative names for the same thing (for example, 'past tense' and 'preterite'). This book therefore provides a basic and accessible guide, focusing on the English language. Definitions of grammatical terms are given in simple language, with clear examples, many from authentic texts and spoken sources, showing how they are used. The terms used in the Comprehensive Grammar of the English Languageare widely seen as standard, and form the basis of grammatical terminology in this book. At the same time, this glossary does not neglect other variants of English grammar, such as that of Huddleston and Pullum's influential Cambridge Grammar of the English Language, whose most important terms are also covered here.This book is indispensable for anyone wishing to understand present-day terminology of English grammar more fully.Key features* A handy and easily understandable pocket guide for anyone studying the structure of the English language* Supplies numerous cross-references to related terms* Includes an annotated bibliography with suggestions for further reading.
ISBN: 9780748624065Publication Date: 2007
An Introduction to the Grammar of English by
It has been eight years since An Introduction to the Grammar of English was first published. The second edition is completely revised and greatly expanded, especially where texts, example sentences, exercises, and cartoons are concerned. It continues to provide a very lively and clearly written textbook. The book introduces basic concepts of grammar in a format which inspires the reader to use linguistic arguments. The style of the book is engaging and examples from poetry, jokes, and puns illustrate grammatical concepts. The focus is on syntactic analysis and evidence. However, special topic sections contribute sociolinguistic and historical reasons behind prescriptive rules such as the bans on split infinitives, dangling participles, and preposition stranding. The book is written for undergraduate students and structured for a semester-long course. It provides exercises, keys to those exercises, and sample exams. It also includes a comprehensive glossary.
ISBN: 9789027288622Publication Date: 2010
Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking by
The Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking is the essential guide for everyone who needs to communicate in clear and effective English, both written and spoken. John Seely looks at the key factors to consider in tailoring your material so that you get your message across, such as understanding the demands of particular audiences, subjects, and situations. Clearly organized, the book is arranged in four sections:A Communicating in everyday life - covers a wide range of communications including writing emails to giving presentations and preparing reports.B Getting your message across - focuses on important factors such as the audience, the subject, time, and purpose.C Communication tools - offers advice on grammar, vocabulary, spelling, and punctuation to ensure that communication is accurate as well as appropriate. D The process of writing - looks at what's involved in writing longer pieces, including planning and drafting, research, summaries, editing, and presentation.Full of practical guidance, this book also includes helpful 'You Try' sections and 'guidelines' to practise and reinforce what you've learnt. The answers to the exercises in the 'You Try' sections can be found at the back of the book. This is the most comprehensive guide to using English for effective communication availab≤ it covers an unrivalled range of situations and requirements, making it ideal for use at work, at school and university, or at home.
ISBN: 9780199652709Publication Date: 2013
Diccionarios
- Cambridge DictionaryCambridge University Press has been publishing dictionaries for learners of English since 1995. Cambridge Dictionaries Online began offering these dictionaries completely free of charge in 1999 — and today, Cambridge Dictionary is still growing.
- Macmillan DictionaryThe award-winning Macmillan English Dictionary was first published in 2002 in both British English and American English. In 2009, the online version of the dictionary – MacmillanDictionary.com – was launched. This included a thesaurus, fully integrated into the entries. Since its launch Macmillan Dictionary has been frequently updated and contains a crowdsourced component called the Open Dictionary, which allows users to be part of the dictionary-writing enterprise and submit words and keep Macmillan Dictionary up to date.
- Merriam-Webster DictionaryMore than 75,000 updated definitions, pronunciations, word origins, synonym lists, and over 8,000 usage examples to aid understanding―more than ever before.