Composition and Reading
The course is a study of advanced grammar techniques. Emphasis is given to composition based on a minute analysis of selected readings. The course integrates the teaching of information and technology skills.
Prontuario del curso
- Prontuario INGL 3201Composition and Reading I
- Prontuario INGL 3202Composition and Reading II
Libro de texto
Exploring Writing by ISBN: 9780073371856Publication Date: 2009Ejemplar en formato impreso (físico) disponible en la Colección de Reserva en la Biblioteca.
Bibliografía recomendada
Applying English Grammar by
This edited collection is about the application of English grammar and specialises in 'functional' and'corpus' approaches, approaches which are increasingly recognised as providing significant insights into English language in action. It aims to stimulate interest and understanding of grammar as an applied tool not just for grammarians or language learners, but for all those interested in how language is organized to shape our view of events in the world. As the chapters in this book show, functional and corpus approaches allow us to make observations that would not be amenable through more traditional forms of grammatical analysis. They also illustrate how researchers can fruitfully bring together corpus and functional approaches to reveal how grammar and lexis create and transmit values, identities and ideologies. Research in Critical Discourse Analysis (CDA) has a long tradition of drawing on functional grammar but has only relatively recently begun to draw on corpus linguistics. As such, the book is unusual in presenting work on CDA which draws on corpus linguistics. But not only that, it is also unique in presenting work in CDA which brings together the methodologies of corpus linguistics and functional grammar, demonstrating their combined potential for illuminating ideological perspectives, particularly in media texts. Given this focus and given the increasing value of empirical data, the book will be of interest to those in a range of disciplines including the humanities and media and cultural studies. Chapters comprise both newly commissioned and previously published works that illustrate the two methodological approaches to grammatical analysis and how they can be applied to deepen our understanding of language.
ISBN: 9781444165340Publication Date: 2014
The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation by
A revised and updated new edition of the bestselling workbook and grammar guide The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation is a concise, entertaining workbook and guide to English grammar, punctuation, and usage. This user-friendly resource includes simple explanations of grammar, punctuation, and usage; scores of helpful examples; dozens of reproducible worksheets; and pre- and post-tests to help teach grammar to students of all ages. Appropriate for virtually any age range, this authoritative guide makes learning English grammar and usage simple and fun. This updated Eleventh Edition reflects the latest updates to English usage and grammar and features a fully revised two-color design and lay-flat binding for easy photocopying. Clear and concise, easy-to-follow, offering "just the facts" Fully updated to reflect the latest rules in grammar and usage along with new quizzes Ideal for students from seventh grade through adulthood in the US and abroad For anyone who wants to understand the major rules and subtle guidelines of English grammar and usage, The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation offers comprehensive, straightforward instruction.
ISBN: 9781118790212Publication Date: 2014
English 1 (2a. ed.) by
Este libro busca desarrollar competencias de comunicación con el idioma inglés como segunda lengua del estudiante, desarrollando las habilidades lingüísticas que son hablar, escribir, escuchar y lectura de compresión. El libro pretende que los estudiantes recaben los conceptos más relevantes y los que hayan adquirido como habilidades de este idioma en la educación básica.
ISBN: 9786074385304Publication Date: 2015
English 2 (2a. ed.) by
Este libro busca desarrollar competencias de comunicación con el idioma inglés como segunda lengua del estudiante, desarrollando las habilidades lingüísticas que son hablar, escribir, escuchar y lectura de compresión. El objetivo general es que los estudiantes adquieran un nivel más elevando de competencia en el dominio de esta lengua.
ISBN: 9786074385786Publication Date: 2015
English 3 (2a. ed.) by
El libro comprende las secciones de la Serie Integral por competencias y cuenta con cuatro bloques: Situaciones de causa y efecto; Hábitos y rutinas realizadas en el pasado con los presentes; Comparas hábitos y costumbres, en las comunidades; Indicaciones y solicitudes. La obra cuenta con audio de las lecturas en la plataforma de la serie en la Web.
ISBN: 9786074385311Publication Date: 2015
English 4 (2a. ed.) by
El libro cuenta con las secciones Warm up, Evaluative formation, Demonstrate your competences, Learning situations Activity sequence, Rubrics, grammar presentation. Cuenta con cuatro bloques, y con Guía para el docente y audio de lecturas en los recursos didácticos en la WEB. • Apegado al programa DGB por competencias. • 250 ilustraciones a todo color. • Lecturas sobre Migración de las mariposas monarca, Halloween, Dilemas. • Vocabulario sobre deportes y actividades recreativas, géneros cinematográficos, tipos de comida. • Sólido apoyo gramatical.
ISBN: 9786074385793Publication Date: 2015
English Grammar Instruction That Works! by
"Andrew and Evelyn Rothstein have given teachers a model for teaching the structure of our language with fun and interesting strategies that can be used at all grade levels. They show teachers how to take grammar instruction from a stand-alone subject to an integral part of a complete literacy program." --Kim Whitling, Fifth-Grade Inclusion Teacher Franklinville Central School, NY Build strong grammar skills to help students become better readers, writers, and communicators! With today′s diverse and standards-driven classroom environment, teachers are eager for a new approach to grammar instruction--one that builds understanding of the structure and nuances of English. This practical guide points the way to fun, engaging, and effective grammar teaching for Grades K-12. Designed for classroom teachers, this resource covers grammar fundamentals that support vocabulary and writing skills. Readers will discover teaching strategies that encourage creativity and critical thought, based on a realistic approach to children′s language development. This guide provides: Clear explanations of grammatical terms as a refresher for teachers Easy-to-implement classroom activities, including examples and word play from children′s literature Appropriate techniques for a broad audience of students, with specific suggestions for English language learners Background on the development of English as a global language, promoting students′ respect for diverse cultures A teaching approach that supports the National Council of Teachers of English standards for English language arts Help your students develop a deep understanding of English grammar and build a solid foundation for academic achievement and lifelong communications skills.
ISBN: 9781452212630Publication Date: 2008
A Glossary of English Grammar by
A Glossary of English Grammarpresents a wide range of terms used to describe the way the English language is structured. Grammatical terms can be a problem for students, especially when there are alternative names for the same thing (for example, 'past tense' and 'preterite'). This book therefore provides a basic and accessible guide, focusing on the English language. Definitions of grammatical terms are given in simple language, with clear examples, many from authentic texts and spoken sources, showing how they are used. The terms used in the Comprehensive Grammar of the English Languageare widely seen as standard, and form the basis of grammatical terminology in this book. At the same time, this glossary does not neglect other variants of English grammar, such as that of Huddleston and Pullum's influential Cambridge Grammar of the English Language, whose most important terms are also covered here.This book is indispensable for anyone wishing to understand present-day terminology of English grammar more fully.Key features* A handy and easily understandable pocket guide for anyone studying the structure of the English language* Supplies numerous cross-references to related terms* Includes an annotated bibliography with suggestions for further reading.
ISBN: 9780748624065Publication Date: 2007
Grammar by
Do you feel that your writing lets you down? Do you feel that your writing lets you down? Are you concerned about how to punctuate properly? Do you have problems turning your thoughts into writing? Do you need some help with referencing?,/ul>If so, then this book will help you to address your concerns and feel more confident about your writing skills! This book introduces grammar in a gentle way by illustrating the kinds of issues students may come across by setting them in context using a soap opera style script. Through a combination of the stories of the students and carefully constructed chapters, the book provides details on the essential aspects of grammar, language use and punctuation needed by all university students. There are also exercises to encourage the reader to relate the issues to their own practice and experiences, as well as an extensive glossary which defines the terms that are used throughout the book. This new edition is completely revised and updated with a new structure covering: Academic language Standard English Sentence construction and punctuation Reflective writing When and where to place an apostrophe Using grammar checkers Avoiding plagiarism, Grammar: A Friendly Approach is an irreverent look at the rules of grammar that has become well-loved by students at college and university. It is also recommended by teachers and tutors who see rapid and noticeable improvements in the written work of those who employ the author's tactics.
ISBN: 9780335240876Publication Date: 2010
How to Write by
How to Write is an introductory guide to writing, aimed at people who think they can't write, or for whom writing is an ordeal. Broken down into short topic-based chapters on everything from beginning to revising, it demystifies the writing process by taking the reader through each stagenecessary to bring a piece of writing to a decent finish. The book also offers a wealth of invaluable practical considerations, including when and where to write, when to printout and when to edit onscreen, what type of pen works well for revisions, and the hazards of the paperclip.The author is a seasoned writer whose encouraging but uncompromising guidance will delight as well as instruct. Offering practical advice in a lucid, no-nonsense style, How to Write will be ideal for both students and professional people who need to write during the course of their work.
ISBN: 9780199278503Publication Date: 2007
Ingles intermedio by
Desarrollar los procesos de comunicación oral y escrita en inglés, mediante la adquisición de los contenidos teórico-prácticos necesarios para ello, valorando la importancia de los mismos para la atención a visitantes de habla no hispana. Comprender el sentido general de un texto escrito, aprendiendo a seleccionar la información necesaria y a deducir el significado de las palabras por el contexto. Entender el sentido de textos orales. Al igual que con los textos escritos, aprenderá a deducir significados por el contexto y la entonación de las frases. Profundizar en el conocimiento de la gramática y adquirir nuevo vocabulario, permitiendo el afianzamiento de estructuras y vocabulario adquiridos con anterioridad. Establecer relaciones entre el significado, la pronunciación y la representación gráfica de algunas palabras y frases, así como reconocer aspectos sonoros, rítmicos y de entonación. Estudio de los aspectos funcionales y sociales de la lengua ingles: requerimientos, sugerencias, pedir información, etc... Desarrollar la competencia comunicativa de los/as alumnos/as en lengua inglesa, actuando especialmente en la producción y compresión de mensajes orales. Fomentar el interés de los/as alumnos/as hacía la cultura anglosajona como medio para eliminar las barreras culturales que dificultan el aprendizaje y uso de la lengua inglesa.
ISBN: 9788492889525Publication Date: 2010
Inglés avanzado by
Desarrollar los procesos de comunicación oral y escrita en inglés, mediante la adquisición de los contenidos teórico-prácticos necesarios para ello, valorando la importancia de los mismos para la atención a visitantes de habla no hispana. Comprender el sentido general de un texto escrito, aprendiendo a seleccionar la información necesaria y a deducir el significado de las palabras por el contexto. Entender el sentido de textos orales. Al igual que con los textos escritos, aprenderá a deducir significados por el contexto y la entonación de las frases. Profundizar en el conocimiento de la gramática y adquirir nuevo vocabulario, permitiendo el afianzamiento de estructuras y vocabulario adquiridos con anterioridad. Establecer relaciones entre el significado, la pronunciación y la representación gráfica de algunas palabras y frases, así como reconocer aspectos sonoros, rítmicos y de entonación. Dominar el idioma de manera que permita a los participantes desenvolverse en las situaciones laborales y sociales. Dominar la competencia lingüística demostrando una comunicación fluida en situaciones profesionales y comerciales. Perfeccionar sus capacidades de comprensión (auditiva, lectora y redactora) alcanzando una óptima comunicación en la lengua inglesa. Estudio de los aspectos funcionales y sociales de la lengua ingles: requerimientos, sugerencias, pedir información, etc... Desarrollar la competencia comunicativa de los/as alumnos/as en lengua inglesa, actuando especialmente en la producción y compresión de mensajes orales. Fomentar el interés de los/as alumnos/as hacía la cultura anglosajona como medio para eliminar las barreras culturales que dificultan el aprendizaje y uso de la lengua inglesa.
ISBN: 9788492889501Publication Date: 2010
Inglés medio en hostelería by
Desarrollar los procesos de comunicación oral y escrita en inglés, mediante la adquisición de los contenidos teórico-prácticos necesarios para ello, valorando la importancia de los mismos para la atención a visitantes de habla no hispana. Comprender el sentido general de un texto escrito, aprendiendo a seleccionar la información necesaria y a deducir el significado de las palabras por el contexto. Entender el sentido de textos orales. Al igual que con los textos escritos, aprenderá a deducir significados por el contexto y la entonación de las frases. Profundizar en el conocimiento de la gramática y adquirir nuevo vocabulario, permitiendo el afianzamiento de estructuras y vocabulario adquiridos con anterioridad. Establecer relaciones entre el significado, la pronunciación y la representación gráfica de algunas palabras y frases, así como reconocer aspectos sonoros, rítmicos y de entonación. Estudio de los aspectos funcionales y sociales de la lengua inglés: requerimientos, sugerencias, pedir información, etc... Desarrollar la competencia comunicativa de los/as alumnos/as en lengua inglesa, actuando especialmente en la producción y compresión de mensajes orales relacionados con el sector de hostelería y restauración. Fomentar el interés de los/as alumnos/as hacía la cultura anglosajona como medio para eliminar las barreras culturales que dificultan el aprendizaje y uso de la lengua inglesa.
ISBN: 9788415100584Publication Date: 2014
Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking by
The Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking is the essential guide for everyone who needs to communicate in clear and effective English, both written and spoken. John Seely looks at the key factors to consider in tailoring your material so that you get your message across, such as understanding the demands of particular audiences, subjects, and situations. Clearly organized, the book is arranged in four sections:A Communicating in everyday life - covers a wide range of communications including writing emails to giving presentations and preparing reports.B Getting your message across - focuses on important factors such as the audience, the subject, time, and purpose.C Communication tools - offers advice on grammar, vocabulary, spelling, and punctuation to ensure that communication is accurate as well as appropriate. D The process of writing - looks at what's involved in writing longer pieces, including planning and drafting, research, summaries, editing, and presentation.Full of practical guidance, this book also includes helpful 'You Try' sections and 'guidelines' to practise and reinforce what you've learnt. The answers to the exercises in the 'You Try' sections can be found at the back of the book. This is the most comprehensive guide to using English for effective communication availab≤ it covers an unrivalled range of situations and requirements, making it ideal for use at work, at school and university, or at home.
ISBN: 9780199652709Publication Date: 2013
Plain Language, Please by
Writing in plain language is not something they teach in you school. But it is an art and a science, and you can learn how to do it and apply it-how to write for results. This book provides a step-by-step, example-filled guide to the critical aspects of writing in plain English-plain language-the type of writing people understand and to which they respond favorably. Not many people refuse to read a newspaper because it is "too easy," but lots of people avoid technical publications and barbecue grill instructions because they are "too hard" or unintelligible. Good writers are made, not born. The examples and information in this book will guide you along the process of becoming one of those "good" writers...and you may even find yourself looking forward to your next writing project.
ISBN: 9781475824759Publication Date: 2016
Punctuation at Work by
In the workplace, good punctuation is much more than a matter of correctness. It's a matter of efficiency. Professionals who aren't sure how to punctuate take more time than necessary to write, as they fret about the many inconsistent and contradictory rules they've picked up over the years. Good punctuation is also a matter of courtesy: In workplace writing, a sentence should yield its meaning instantly, but when punctuation is haphazard, readers need to work to understand - or guess at - the writer's intent. Weak punctuation results in time-wasting confusion, questions about professionalism, and some times even serious and costly miscommunication. Without using the jargon of grammar -- and providing 18 common sense principles to live by -- Punctuation at Work shows busy professionals exactly how the marks can be used to make meaning clear and emphasize ideas. All the marks are covered, with hundreds of examples taken from today's workplace. From hyphens and semicolons to brackets and quotation marks...all the way to ellipses (and the eternal struggle between "that" and "which"), this book explains the many ways punctuation makes things plain.
ISBN: 9780814414958Publication Date: 2010
Teaching Writing by
Do you think that the qualities of good writing are culture specific or universal? This reflective question and many others await your discussion and analysis in this revised edition of TESOL Press's best-selling Teaching Writing, which explores different approaches to teaching writing in second language classrooms. This volume contains a new chapter, Designing Writing Assignments. New references and updated research, as well as lesson plans for teachers at various levels, are also included.
ISBN: 9781945351860Publication Date: 2020
Write in Style by
Write in Style is aimed at all for whom clarity and accuracy of expression are important skills. All the main styles and grammaticalrules are covered, their sense axplained and vivid examples given of how not to write. Plenty of sound and meticulous advice is offered in a friendly and enthusiastic toneand a large part of the book covers specific types of writing, from essays and articles to minutes and reportage. The many illustrations, examples and exercises throughout help the reader put into practice the techniques and skillds the book explores.
ISBN: 9780415252638Publication Date: 2002
Writing Effectively by
With 40 well structured and easy to follow topics to choose from, each workbook in this series has a wide range of case studies, questions and activities to meet both an individual or organization's training needs. Whether studying for an ILM qualification or looking to enhance the skills of your employees, Super Series provides solutions, frameworks and techniques to support management and leadership development.
ISBN: 9780750658836Publication Date: 2003
Diccionarios
- Cambridge DictionaryCambridge University Press has been publishing dictionaries for learners of English since 1995. Cambridge Dictionaries Online began offering these dictionaries completely free of charge in 1999 — and today, Cambridge Dictionary is still growing.
- Macmillan DictionaryThe award-winning Macmillan English Dictionary was first published in 2002 in both British English and American English. In 2009, the online version of the dictionary – MacmillanDictionary.com – was launched. This included a thesaurus, fully integrated into the entries. Since its launch Macmillan Dictionary has been frequently updated and contains a crowdsourced component called the Open Dictionary, which allows users to be part of the dictionary-writing enterprise and submit words and keep Macmillan Dictionary up to date.
- Merriam-Webster DictionaryMore than 75,000 updated definitions, pronunciations, word origins, synonym lists, and over 8,000 usage examples to aid understanding―more than ever before.