Basic Course in English
Intensive course in the fundamentals of the grammatical structures of English. Emphasis is on oral and written skills, reading for comprehension, and vocabulary building. The grammatical structures presented in class are reinforced through oral drills.
Prontuario del curso
- Prontuario INGL 3101Basic Course in English I
- Prontuario INGL 3102Basic Course in English II
Libro de texto
Grammar Explorer 2 by ISBN: 9781111351106Publication Date: 2015Ejemplar en formato impreso (físico) disponible en la Colección de Reserva en la Biblioteca.
Bibliografía recomendada
The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation by
A revised and updated new edition of the bestselling workbook and grammar guide The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation is a concise, entertaining workbook and guide to English grammar, punctuation, and usage. This user-friendly resource includes simple explanations of grammar, punctuation, and usage; scores of helpful examples; dozens of reproducible worksheets; and pre- and post-tests to help teach grammar to students of all ages. Appropriate for virtually any age range, this authoritative guide makes learning English grammar and usage simple and fun. This updated Eleventh Edition reflects the latest updates to English usage and grammar and features a fully revised two-color design and lay-flat binding for easy photocopying. Clear and concise, easy-to-follow, offering "just the facts" Fully updated to reflect the latest rules in grammar and usage along with new quizzes Ideal for students from seventh grade through adulthood in the US and abroad For anyone who wants to understand the major rules and subtle guidelines of English grammar and usage, The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation offers comprehensive, straightforward instruction.
ISBN: 9781118785560Publication Date: 2014
English 1 (2a. ed.) by
Este libro busca desarrollar competencias de comunicación con el idioma inglés como segunda lengua del estudiante, desarrollando las habilidades lingüísticas que son hablar, escribir, escuchar y lectura de compresión. El libro pretende que los estudiantes recaben los conceptos más relevantes y los que hayan adquirido como habilidades de este idioma en la educación básica.
ISBN: 9786074385304Publication Date: 2015
English 2 (2a. ed.) by
Este libro busca desarrollar competencias de comunicación con el idioma inglés como segunda lengua del estudiante, desarrollando las habilidades lingüísticas que son hablar, escribir, escuchar y lectura de compresión. El objetivo general es que los estudiantes adquieran un nivel más elevando de competencia en el dominio de esta lengua.
ISBN: 9786074385786Publication Date: 2015
English 3 (2a. ed.) by
El libro comprende las secciones de la Serie Integral por competencias y cuenta con cuatro bloques: Situaciones de causa y efecto; Hábitos y rutinas realizadas en el pasado con los presentes; Comparas hábitos y costumbres, en las comunidades; Indicaciones y solicitudes. La obra cuenta con audio de las lecturas en la plataforma de la serie en la Web.
ISBN: 9786074385311Publication Date: 2015
English 4 (2a. ed.) by
El libro cuenta con las secciones Warm up, Evaluative formation, Demonstrate your competences, Learning situations Activity sequence, Rubrics, grammar presentation. Cuenta con cuatro bloques, y con Guía para el docente y audio de lecturas en los recursos didácticos en la WEB. • Apegado al programa DGB por competencias. • 250 ilustraciones a todo color. • Lecturas sobre Migración de las mariposas monarca, Halloween, Dilemas. • Vocabulario sobre deportes y actividades recreativas, géneros cinematográficos, tipos de comida. • Sólido apoyo gramatical.
ISBN: 9786074385793Publication Date: 2015
A Glossary of English Grammar by
A Glossary of English Grammarpresents a wide range of terms used to describe the way the English language is structured. Grammatical terms can be a problem for students, especially when there are alternative names for the same thing (for example, 'past tense' and 'preterite'). This book therefore provides a basic and accessible guide, focusing on the English language. Definitions of grammatical terms are given in simple language, with clear examples, many from authentic texts and spoken sources, showing how they are used. The terms used in the Comprehensive Grammar of the English Languageare widely seen as standard, and form the basis of grammatical terminology in this book. At the same time, this glossary does not neglect other variants of English grammar, such as that of Huddleston and Pullum's influential Cambridge Grammar of the English Language, whose most important terms are also covered here.This book is indispensable for anyone wishing to understand present-day terminology of English grammar more fully.Key features* A handy and easily understandable pocket guide for anyone studying the structure of the English language* Supplies numerous cross-references to related terms* Includes an annotated bibliography with suggestions for further reading.
ISBN: 9780748624065Publication Date: 2007
Grammar by
Do you feel that your writing lets you down? Are you concerned about how to punctuate properly? Do you have problems turning your thoughts into writing? Do you need some help with referencing? If so, then this book will help you to address your concerns and feel more confident about your writing skills! This book introduces grammar in a gentle way by illustrating the kinds of issues students may come across by setting them in context using a soap opera style script. Through a combination of the stories of the students and carefully constructed chapters, the book provides details on the essential aspects of grammar, language use and punctuation needed by all university students. There are also exercises to encourage the reader to relate the issues to their own practice and experiences, as well as an extensive glossary which defines the terms that are used throughout the book. This new edition is completely revised and updated with a new structure covering: Academic language Standard English Sentence construction and punctuation Reflective writing When and where to place an apostrophe Using grammar checkers Avoiding plagiarism, Grammar: A Friendly Approach is an irreverent look at the rules of grammar that has become well-loved by students at college and university. It is also recommended by teachers and tutors who see rapid and noticeable improvements in the written work of those who employ the author's tactics.
ISBN: 9780335240869Publication Date: 2010
Grammar: a Pocket Guide by
If you've ever wanted a quick and easy guide to verbs and adverbs, commas and apostrophes, clauses and prepositions, then this is a must-have book for you. Easing readers gently into the study of the structure of English, Grammar: A Pocket Guide covers common questions such as: Is it "10 items or less" or "10 items or fewer"? Should I say "If I were you" or "if I was you"? Can you start a sentence with "And" or "Because"? When do you use "whom"? What is the difference between "lie" and "lay"? Is it "I feel bad" or "I feel badly"? Using examples from everyday speech and writing, this handy book "cracks the code" of off-putting grammatical jargon so that readers can enjoy learning how to think and talk about grammar. With practice exercises, a glossary, and suggestions for further reading, Grammar: A Pocket Guide is the perfect foundation for anyone wanting to improve his or her writing and communication.
ISBN: 9780415493598Publication Date: 2010
How to Write by
How to Write is an introductory guide to writing, aimed at people who think they can't write, or for whom writing is an ordeal. Broken down into short topic-based chapters on everything from beginning to revising, it demystifies the writing process by taking the reader through each stagenecessary to bring a piece of writing to a decent finish. The book also offers a wealth of invaluable practical considerations, including when and where to write, when to printout and when to edit onscreen, what type of pen works well for revisions, and the hazards of the paperclip.The author is a seasoned writer whose encouraging but uncompromising guidance will delight as well as instruct. Offering practical advice in a lucid, no-nonsense style, How to Write will be ideal for both students and professional people who need to write during the course of their work.
ISBN: 9780199278503Publication Date: 2007
Inglés básico en hostelería by
Desarrollar los procesos de comunicación oral y escrita en inglés, mediante la adquisición de los contenidos teórico-prácticos necesarios para ello, valorando la importancia de los mismos para la atención a visitantes de habla no hispana. Comprender el sentido general de un texto escrito, aprendiendo a seleccionar la información necesaria y a deducir el significado de las palabras por el contexto. Entender el sentido de textos orales. Al igual que con los textos escritos, aprenderá a deducir significados por el contexto y la entonación de las frases. Profundizar en el conocimiento de la gramática y adquirir nuevo vocabulario, permitiendo el afianzamiento de estructuras y vocabulario adquiridos con anterioridad. Establecer relaciones entre el significado, la pronunciación y la representación gráfica de algunas palabras y frases, así como reconocer aspectos sonoros, rítmicos y de entonación. Estudio de los aspectos funcionales y sociales de la lengua ingles: requerimientos, sugerencias, pedir información, etc. Desarrollar la competencia comunicativa de los/as alumnos/as en lengua inglesa, actuando especialmente en la producción y compresión de mensajes orales relacionados con el sector de hostelería y restauración. Fomentar el interés de los/as alumnos/as hacía la cultura anglosajona como medio para eliminar las barreras culturales que dificultan el aprendizaje y uso de la lengua inglesa.
ISBN: 9788490219188Publication Date: 2015
An Introduction to the Grammar of English by
It has been eight years since An Introduction to the Grammar of English was first published. The second edition is completely revised and greatly expanded, especially where texts, example sentences, exercises, and cartoons are concerned. It continues to provide a very lively and clearly written textbook. The book introduces basic concepts of grammar in a format which inspires the reader to use linguistic arguments. The style of the book is engaging and examples from poetry, jokes, and puns illustrate grammatical concepts. The focus is on syntactic analysis and evidence. However, special topic sections contribute sociolinguistic and historical reasons behind prescriptive rules such as the bans on split infinitives, dangling participles, and preposition stranding. The book is written for undergraduate students and structured for a semester-long course. It provides exercises, keys to those exercises, and sample exams. It also includes a comprehensive glossary. A basic website will be kept up at http://www.public.asu.edu/~gelderen/grammar.htm.
ISBN: 9789027232700Publication Date: 2010
Navigating English Grammar by
An engaging and fresh take on the rules and politics of English grammar, written in lively prose. It goes a step further than most books on grammar by providing an overview of the field, with a discussion of historical and current debates about grammar, and how we define, discuss, and approach it. Presents a novel, inquiry-based approach to understanding speakers' unconscious knowledge of English grammar Makes lucid connections, when relevant, with current linguistic theory Integrates language change and variation into the study of grammar Examines historical sources of socially evaluative perceptions of grammar, as 'good' or 'bad', and notions of language authority Provides syntactic explanations for many modern punctuation rules Explores some of the current controversies about grammar teaching in school and the role of Standard English in testing and assessment
ISBN: 9781405159937Publication Date: 2013
Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking by
The Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking is the essential guide for everyone who needs to communicate in clear and effective English, both written and spoken. John Seely looks at the key factors to consider in tailoring your material so that you get your message across, such as understanding the demands of particular audiences, subjects, and situations. Clearly organized, the book is arranged in four sections:A Communicating in everyday life - covers a wide range of communications including writing emails to giving presentations and preparing reports.B Getting your message across - focuses on important factors such as the audience, the subject, time, and purpose.C Communication tools - offers advice on grammar, vocabulary, spelling, and punctuation to ensure that communication is accurate as well as appropriate. D The process of writing - looks at what's involved in writing longer pieces, including planning and drafting, research, summaries, editing, and presentation.Full of practical guidance, this book also includes helpful 'You Try' sections and 'guidelines' to practise and reinforce what you've learnt. The answers to the exercises in the 'You Try' sections can be found at the back of the book. This is the most comprehensive guide to using English for effective communication availab≤ it covers an unrivalled range of situations and requirements, making it ideal for use at work, at school and university, or at home.
ISBN: 9780199652709Publication Date: 2013
Write in Style by
Write in Style is aimed at all for whom clarity and accuracy of expression are important skills. All the main styles and grammaticalrules are covered, their sense axplained and vivid examples given of how not to write. Plenty of sound and meticulous advice is offered in a friendly and enthusiastic toneand a large part of the book covers specific types of writing, from essays and articles to minutes and reportage. The many illustrations, examples and exercises throughout help the reader put into practice the techniques and skillds the book explores.
ISBN: 9780415252638Publication Date: 2002
Diccionarios
- Cambridge DictionaryCambridge University Press has been publishing dictionaries for learners of English since 1995. Cambridge Dictionaries Online began offering these dictionaries completely free of charge in 1999 — and today, Cambridge Dictionary is still growing.
- Macmillan DictionaryThe award-winning Macmillan English Dictionary was first published in 2002 in both British English and American English. In 2009, the online version of the dictionary – MacmillanDictionary.com – was launched. This included a thesaurus, fully integrated into the entries. Since its launch Macmillan Dictionary has been frequently updated and contains a crowdsourced component called the Open Dictionary, which allows users to be part of the dictionary-writing enterprise and submit words and keep Macmillan Dictionary up to date.
- Merriam-Webster DictionaryMore than 75,000 updated definitions, pronunciations, word origins, synonym lists, and over 8,000 usage examples to aid understanding―more than ever before.