Introduction to Literature
This course is designed to introduce the students to the genres of fiction, drama, and poetry. By studying important works by writer of culturally diverse backgrounds, students gain experience reading, analyzing, and interpreting literature. The course establishes connections between literature and other areas of arts and communications.
Prontuario del curso
- Prontuario INGL 3221Introduction to Literature I
- Prontuario INGL 3222Introduction to Literature II
Libro de texto
Literature by ISBN: 9780136040996Publication Date: 2008-11-11Ejemplar en formato impreso (físico) disponible en la Colección de Reserva en la Biblioteca.
Bibliografía recomendada
Active Reading by
The subject of this book is the crossover between critical study and creative writing. 'Active reading' is a structured process of writing activities using imitation, variation and experimentation. Through practical composition techniques such as 'transformational writing', 're-writing' or 'translation', students can use writing activities to develop their critical imagination. This book bridges the gap between theories of learning and Literary studies in Higher Education. Setting the argument in an historical and theoretical context, it outlines the importance of writing as a medium of learning and argues for its usefulness in aiding English students' understanding of theoretical as well as literary and cultural texts. The authors provide a reflective account of teaching and assessment methods using writing activities and critical thinking techniques and the forms of learning they promote. In the last section, they explore the connections with other forms of writing practice in related disciplines and argue for the role of transformational writing in promoting independent learning. Appendices provide examples of the range of activities that can be used and an indicative list of literary examples.
ISBN: 9781441171504Publication Date: 2008
American Literature and Culture, 1900 - 1960 by
This introduction to American literature and culture from 1900 to 1960 is organized around four major ideas about America: that is it "big", "new", "rich", and "free". Illustrates the artistic and social climate in the USA during this period. Juxtaposes discussion of history, popular culture, literature and other art forms in ways that foster discussion, questioning, and continued study. An appendix lists relevant primary and secondary works, including websites. An ideal supplement to primary texts taught in American literature courses.
ISBN: 9780470680476Publication Date: 2008
American Literature As World Literature by
For better or worse, America lives in the age of "worlded" literature. Not the world literature of nations and nationalities considered from most powerful and wealthy to the least. And not the world literature found with a map. Rather, the worlded literature of individuals crossing borders, mixing stories, and speaking in dialect. Where translation struggles to be effective and background is itself another story. The "worlded" literature of the multinational corporate publishing industry where the global market is all. The essays in this collection, from some of the most distinguished figures in American studies and literature, explore what it means to consider American literature as world literature.
ISBN: 9781501332302Publication Date: 2017
English for Creative Industries : Study Book by ISBN: 9789955288466
Lectures on American literature by
The first edition of this book, published in 2002, aimed to complete the study material for our students of American literature. The third edition strives to emphasize this aspect while expanding and deepening the general overview as well as including other important movements and authors. The exposition of the 20th century underwent major changes: the scholars added new texts while supplementing the older ones to comply with the development of critical and academic approaches. The book is written to the point and in comprehensible language, corresponding with the ambition to present and explain the development of one of the most interesting world literatures to university students.
ISBN: 9788024623474Publication Date: 2011
Literature by
This introductory volume provides an overview of the history of Literature as a cultural concept, and reflects on the contemporary nature, place and function of what the literary might mean for us today. Literature: * offers a concise history of the canonic concept of 'literature' from its earliest origins * illustrates the kinds of theoretical issues which are currently invoked by the term 'literary' * provides a definition of the 'literary' for the twenty-first century With Literature Peter Widdowson provides a thought-provoking essay on the contemporary relevance of the 'literary' for students.
ISBN: 9780203169438Publication Date: 2013
Modern American Literature by
An incisive study of modern American literature, casting new light on its origins and themes.Exploring canonical American writers such as Ezra Pound, Ernest Hemingway and William Faulkner alongside less familiar writers like Djuna Barnes and Susan Glaspell, the guide takes readers though a diverse literary landscape. It considers how the rise of the American metropolis contributed to the growth of American modernism; and also examines the ways in which regional writers responded to an accelerated American modernity. Taking in African American modernism, cultural and geographical exile, as well as developments in modern American drama, the guide introduces readers to current critical trends in modernist studies. Key Features Presents American literary modernism as emerging from a broad intellectual and philosophical landscape Extends the timeframe, definition and intellectual parameters of American modernism Provides close critical and contextual analysis of more than thirty American writers and key texts including Ernest Hemingway's The Sun Also Rises, F. Scott Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby, Djuna Barnes's Nightwood, and T. S. Eliot's The Waste Land
ISBN: 9780748630721Publication Date: 2012
Diccionarios
- Cambridge DictionaryCambridge University Press has been publishing dictionaries for learners of English since 1995. Cambridge Dictionaries Online began offering these dictionaries completely free of charge in 1999 — and today, Cambridge Dictionary is still growing.
- Macmillan DictionaryThe award-winning Macmillan English Dictionary was first published in 2002 in both British English and American English. In 2009, the online version of the dictionary – MacmillanDictionary.com – was launched. This included a thesaurus, fully integrated into the entries. Since its launch Macmillan Dictionary has been frequently updated and contains a crowdsourced component called the Open Dictionary, which allows users to be part of the dictionary-writing enterprise and submit words and keep Macmillan Dictionary up to date.
- Merriam-Webster DictionaryMore than 75,000 updated definitions, pronunciations, word origins, synonym lists, and over 8,000 usage examples to aid understanding―more than ever before.