Conversational English
This course is designed to help students increase their self-confidence, fluency and accuracy in spoken English. Emphasis is on pronunciation, vocabulary and helping students progress from simple conversations to dialogues involving specialized words and usage, and finally to the organization and deliverance of oral presentations and dialogues.
Prontuario del curso
- Prontuario INCO 4015Conversational English
Libro de texto
Welcome! by ISBN: 0521606594Publication Date: 2005Ejemplar en formato impreso (físico) disponible en la Colección de Reserva en la Biblioteca.
Bibliografía recomendada
The Eight Parts of Speech by
Simply English - 8 Parts of Speech is a guide to help students become familiar with the basic units of grammar. Each part of speech is defined with tips and examples for identification. Practice exercises are then provided for identifying each part of speech. Be sure to have students read over the Quick Reference (at the end of the textbook) to familiarize themselves with the eight parts of speech. It includes definitions, key words and examples. This reference can be used as a study guide and when preparing for exams. The curriculum is very flexible allowing you to introduce each part of speech, usage concept and exercises at the students' own pace. Of course this will depend on the level of their previous exposure to English grammar. The concepts taught here are more likely to become entrenched if the ideas are incorporated into the students' other writing assignments
ISBN: 9781475837162Publication Date: 2017
How to Speak and Write Correctly by
Are you confused by commas? Exasperated by ellipses? Thrown into a panic by parentheses? If you often find yourself at a loss for words, it may be time to brush up on the basics with help from this comprehensive guide that offers plenty of tips and techniques for improving your spoken and written communication skills.
ISBN: 9781775565161Publication Date: 2009
Inglés básico en hostelería by
Desarrollar los procesos de comunicación oral y escrita en inglés, mediante la adquisición de los contenidos teórico-prácticos necesarios para ello, valorando la importancia de los mismos para la atención a visitantes de habla no hispana. Comprender el sentido general de un texto escrito, aprendiendo a seleccionar la información necesaria y a deducir el significado de las palabras por el contexto. Entender el sentido de textos orales. Al igual que con los textos escritos, aprenderá a deducir significados por el contexto y la entonación de las frases. Profundizar en el conocimiento de la gramática y adquirir nuevo vocabulario, permitiendo el afianzamiento de estructuras y vocabulario adquiridos con anterioridad. Establecer relaciones entre el significado, la pronunciación y la representación gráfica de algunas palabras y frases, así como reconocer aspectos sonoros, rítmicos y de entonación. Estudio de los aspectos funcionales y sociales de la lengua ingles: requerimientos, sugerencias, pedir información, etc. Desarrollar la competencia comunicativa de los/as alumnos/as en lengua inglesa, actuando especialmente en la producción y compresión de mensajes orales relacionados con el sector de hostelería y restauración. Fomentar el interés de los/as alumnos/as hacía la cultura anglosajona como medio para eliminar las barreras culturales que dificultan el aprendizaje y uso de la lengua inglesa.
ISBN: 9788490219188Publication Date: 2015
Inglés medio en hostelería by
Desarrollar los procesos de comunicación oral y escrita en inglés, mediante la adquisición de los contenidos teórico-prácticos necesarios para ello, valorando la importancia de los mismos para la atención a visitantes de habla no hispana. Comprender el sentido general de un texto escrito, aprendiendo a seleccionar la información necesaria y a deducir el significado de las palabras por el contexto. Entender el sentido de textos orales. Al igual que con los textos escritos, aprenderá a deducir significados por el contexto y la entonación de las frases. Profundizar en el conocimiento de la gramática y adquirir nuevo vocabulario, permitiendo el afianzamiento de estructuras y vocabulario adquiridos con anterioridad. Establecer relaciones entre el significado, la pronunciación y la representación gráfica de algunas palabras y frases, así como reconocer aspectos sonoros, rítmicos y de entonación. Estudio de los aspectos funcionales y sociales de la lengua inglés: requerimientos, sugerencias, pedir información, etc... Desarrollar la competencia comunicativa de los/as alumnos/as en lengua inglesa, actuando especialmente en la producción y compresión de mensajes orales relacionados con el sector de hostelería y restauración. Fomentar el interés de los/as alumnos/as hacía la cultura anglosajona como medio para eliminar las barreras culturales que dificultan el aprendizaje y uso de la lengua inglesa.
ISBN: 9788415100584Publication Date: 2014
Modern Business Communication by
Modern Business Communication is a text book specially designed to meet the present needs of management students in BBA,MBA levels and also for students to prepare themselves to become a company executive. The book covers almost all typical areas of communication in a brief and point wise manner for immediate remembrance of the students. It provides in-depth coverage of three components of business communication i.e. Written Communication,Oral Communication and Non-Verbal Communication. Beginning with an overview of communication,the book discusses about effective listening. Business correspondence , Negotiation and conflicts ,Tools for effective sales presentations,Modern technology used in communication. Finally the usage of grammar, punctuation, capitalization etc.
ISBN: 9789350436936Publication Date: 2008
Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking by
The Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking is the essential guide for everyone who needs to communicate in clear and effective English, both written and spoken. John Seely looks at the key factors to consider in tailoring your material so that you get your message across, such as understanding the demands of particular audiences, subjects, and situations. Clearly organized, the book is arranged in four sections:A Communicating in everyday life - covers a wide range of communications including writing emails to giving presentations and preparing reports.B Getting your message across - focuses on important factors such as the audience, the subject, time, and purpose.C Communication tools - offers advice on grammar, vocabulary, spelling, and punctuation to ensure that communication is accurate as well as appropriate. D The process of writing - looks at what's involved in writing longer pieces, including planning and drafting, research, summaries, editing, and presentation.Full of practical guidance, this book also includes helpful 'You Try' sections and 'guidelines' to practise and reinforce what you've learnt. The answers to the exercises in the 'You Try' sections can be found at the back of the book. This is the most comprehensive guide to using English for effective communication availab≤ it covers an unrivalled range of situations and requirements, making it ideal for use at work, at school and university, or at home.
ISBN: 9780199652709Publication Date: 2013
Teaching Pronunciation by
How would you begin to introduce ESL/EFL students to English vowel sounds? This reflective question and many others await your discussion and analysis in this revised edition of TESOL Press's best-selling Teaching Pronunciation. This volume explores different approaches to teaching pronunciation in second language classrooms and contains updated research as well as a new, detailed lesson plan. Murphy explores how thought groups, or how speakers use clusters of words to best fit the communicative situation, are essential for a clearer understanding of most components of English pronunciation that are taught in the ESL/EFL classroom.
ISBN: 9781945351846Publication Date: 2020
Teaching Speaking by
How can you encourage students to accept varieties of English from around the world? This Reflective Question and many others await your discussion and analysis in this revised edition of TESOL Press's best-selling Teaching Speaking, which explores different approaches to teaching reading in second language classrooms. This volume contains new references and updated research as well as new activities, charts, and a detailed lesson plan for teachers to consider. A new chapter - Ways of Using Speaking to Teach - is also included.
ISBN: 9781945351921Publication Date: 2020
Teach Yourself English Phonetics by
The main goal of this book is to help students grasp the basic principles of English Phonetics. It covers both descriptive and practical contents which are specifically designed for self-tuition and autonomous learning.The book is accompanied by 38 video classes and a battery of self-evaluation exercises which include listening activities and phonetic transcription practice. This book has been designed as a companion to the book Teach Yourself English Pronunciation by the same author.
ISBN: 9788436275360Publication Date: 2019
Diccionarios
- Cambridge DictionaryCambridge University Press has been publishing dictionaries for learners of English since 1995. Cambridge Dictionaries Online began offering these dictionaries completely free of charge in 1999 — and today, Cambridge Dictionary is still growing.
- Macmillan DictionaryThe award-winning Macmillan English Dictionary was first published in 2002 in both British English and American English. In 2009, the online version of the dictionary – MacmillanDictionary.com – was launched. This included a thesaurus, fully integrated into the entries. Since its launch Macmillan Dictionary has been frequently updated and contains a crowdsourced component called the Open Dictionary, which allows users to be part of the dictionary-writing enterprise and submit words and keep Macmillan Dictionary up to date.
- Merriam-Webster DictionaryMore than 75,000 updated definitions, pronunciations, word origins, synonym lists, and over 8,000 usage examples to aid understanding―more than ever before.