Introducción
El 19 de noviembre de 2020 recibimos la triste noticia de que la National Science Foundation recomendó que el Observatorio de Arecibo sea derribado debido a fallas estructurales. Lamentablemente, el 1 de diciembre de 2020, a las 7:00 a.m. la estructura colapsó. Compartimos algunas fuentes que recogen la historia e importancia de este maravilloso ícono de la astrofísica y que fuera el orgullo de tantos puertorriqueños. Algunas fuentes disponibles en esta guía temática son de libre acceso y otras son parte de la colección por suscripción de la Universidad de Puerto Rico en Carolina.
Construcción del Observatorio de Arecibo
junio 1960
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
diciembre 1960
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
24 de enero de 1961
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
27 de enero de 1961
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
7 de marzo de 1961 a
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
7 de marzo de 1961 b
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
3 de abril de 1961 a
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
3 de abril de 1961 b
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
27 de abril de 1961
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
Torre, 1961
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
14 de septiembre de 1961
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
5 de octubre de 1961
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
14 de noviembre de 1961
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
19 de enero de 1962
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
22 de marzo de 1962
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
15 de junio de 1962
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
Torre, 1962
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
24 de agosto de 1962
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
7 de septiembre de 1962
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
14 de septiembre de 1962
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
30 de octubre de 1962
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
2 de noviembre de 1962
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
2 de diciembre de 1962
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
4 de diciembre de 1962
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
19 de diciembre de 1962
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
11 de enero de 1963
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
14 de febrero de 1963 a
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
14 de febrero de 1963 b
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
14 de febrero de 1963 c
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
16 de marzo de 1963
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
21 de marzo de 1963
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
18 de julio de 1963
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
8 de agosto de 1963
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
14 de agosto de 1963
® All images property of National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center
"courtesy of the NAIC - Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the NSF"
18 de agosto de 1963
Colapso de la estructura
1 de diciembre de 2020
Noticias
Noticias sobre el colapso del observatorio
Noticias sobre la decomisación del observatorio
Noticias sobre la construcción del observatorio
(Agredecemos al Prof. Javier Almeyda por su esfuerzo de digitalización y divulgación de documentos de la Colección Puertorriqueña de la UPR-Río Piedras)
Imágenes de los daños estructurales
Vista aerea de los daños estructurales 1 de diciembre de 2020
Vista de los daños a la plataforma triangular 1 de diciembre de 2020
Vista de los daños a la plataforma, domo y plato reflector 1 de diciembre de 2020
Publicaciones científicas sobre historia y descripción del radiotelescopio
National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center's (NAIC) Arecibo Observatory in Puerto Rico by Publication Date: 2002- Genesis of the 1000-foot Arecibo DishPublication Date: 2009
AO NewsletterPublication Date: 2016-2017
Obras de referencia
The Astronomy Encyclopedia by
The universe beyond our own has been an object of scientific inquiry and a preoccupation of avid stargazers from antiquity up to the present day, and this preoccupation has evolved into a complex field in which mysteries are unlocked and discoveries are made on a constant basis. The AstronomyEncyclopedia covers the full width and breadth of the discipline and includes the latest and most important advances.In more than 3,000 alphabetically organized articles accompanied by 500 stunning color and black and white photographs, star maps, and diagrams, The Astronomy Encyclopedia covers everything both the researcher and general enthusiast wants to knowfrom adaptive optics and cold dark matter to Islamicastronomy and the principle of equivalence. It includes a host of major articles on the cornerstones of astronomical investigation, such as the Milky Way, the sun and planets, optical and radio telescopes, stars, black holes, astrophysics, observatories, astronomical photography, space programs,the constellations and famous astronomers. Also featured are tables which display relevant data such as the brightest stars in the major constellations, annual meteor showers, major variable stars, dwarf stars, and energy production processes in the sun.More than 100 astronomers from leading universities and observatories, each an expert in a specialized area of the field, wrote and reviewed the entries to ensure their authority. Patrick Moore, distinguished astronomer and longtime host of the popular BBC television program The Sky at Night,serves as the general editor for this most up-to-date and reliable reference work.A glimpse into humanity's last great frontier, the Astronomy Encyclopedia is both accessible and comprehensive enough for both the serious stargazer and the professional astronomer.
ISBN: 9780195218336Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of the History of Astronomy and Astrophysics by
This comprehensive Encyclopedia covers the full history of astronomy from its ancient origins in Africa, South America, the Middle East and China to the latest developments in astrophysics and space-based research. The initial articles, which are largely organised chronologically, are followed by numerous thematic historical articles on the constituents of the Solar System, types of stars, stellar evolution, active galaxies, cosmology and much more. These are followed by articles on tools and techniques, from the history of spectroscopy to adaptive optics. The last part of the Encyclopedia is devoted to the history of ground- and space-based telescopes and observatories, covering the full spectral range from gamma-rays through the optical waveband to radio waves. Informative and accessibly written, each article is followed by an extensive bibliography to facilitate further research, whilst consistent coverage from ancient times to the present makes this an ideal resource for scholars, students and amateur astronomers alike.
ISBN: 9780521899949Publication Date: 2013
Informes gubernamentales e institucionales que mencionan aportaciones del Observatorio de Arecibo
- The Arecibo Ionospheric Observatory by Publication Date: 2012
Forging the Future of Space Science by
From September 2007 to June 2008 the Space Studies Board conducted an international public seminar series, with each monthly talk highlighting a different topic in space and Earth science. The principal lectures from the series are compiled in Forging the Future of Space Science. The topics of these events covered the full spectrum of space and Earth science research, from global climate change, to the cosmic origins of life, to the exploration of the Moon and Mars, to the scientific research required to support human spaceflight. The prevailing messages throughout the seminar series as demonstrated by the lectures in this book are how much we have accomplished over the past 50 years, how profound are our discoveries, how much contributions from the space program affect our daily lives, and yet how much remains to be done. The age of discovery in space and Earth science is just beginning. Opportunities abound that will forever alter our destiny.
ISBN: 0309139465Publication Date: 2010
El Observatorio de Arecibo en la literatura
Contact by
Pulitzer Prize-winning author and astronomer Carl Sagan imagines the greatest adventure of all--the discovery of an advanced civilization in the depths of space. In December of 1999, a multinational team journeys out to the stars, to the most awesome encounter in human history. Who--or what--is out there? In Cosmos, Carl Sagan explained the universe. In Contact, he predicts its future--and our own.
ISBN: 9781501172311Publication Date: 2016
El Observatorio de Arecibo en el cine, televisión y videojuegos
Contact by Publication Date: 1997
GoldenEye by Publication Date: 1995
X-Files (Season 2, Episode 1)Publication Date: 1994-1995
Where on Earth Is Carmen Sandiego? by Publication Date: 1994
El Observatorio de Arecibo en la cultura popular
Fin de transmisión - Composición del artista @kristianbob que rinde homenaje al radiotelescopio de Arecibo. Este maravilloso trabajo con aire nostálgico y un toque galáctico tiene un poco de influencia del rock de Zoé y The Allan Parson Project . Gracias por compartirlo @kristianbob
Videos educativos
