CABI Digital Library
Colección de eBooks de la Universidad de Puerto Rico en Carolina
Sustainable Destination Branding and Marketing by
Destination branding and marketing form the backbone of tourism industry growth, but it is increasingly important that the strategies employed consider and promote sustainable solutions. This book provides a comprehensive set of tools and techniques for branding and marketing for sustainable tourism development. It blends tourism and marketing strategies with practical, innovative information technology solutions and a psychological perspective, providing illustrative case studies and examples to aid understanding. Addressing opportunities and challenges across the field, it also reviews how different types of tourism such as community based, accessible, film, agricultural and cultural-heritage tourism entail unique issues for development. Competition between destinations has led to a real need for different strategies in order to differentiate the tourism product. This book: - Uniquely covers both marketing and branding of a destination from a sustainability perspective; - Considers the role of emotions and experiences when advertising a destination; - Brings together a set of global authors to provide a varied and universally applicable approach to the subject. A thought-provoking read for anyone interested in questions of sustainability in destinations, this book provides an invaluable resource for researchers of tourism, marketing and international development studies as well as destination managers.
ISBN: 9781786394286Publication Date: 2020
Dark Tourism and Pilgrimage by
In recent years there has been a growth in both the practice and research of dark tourism; the phenomenon of visiting sites of tragedy or disaster. Expanding on this trend, this book examines dark tourism through the new lens of pilgrimage. It focuses on dark tourism sites as pilgrimage destinations, dark tourists as pilgrims, and pilgrimage as a form of dark tourism. Taking a broad definition of pilgrimage so as to consider aspects of both religious and non-religious travel that might be considered pilgrimage-like, it covers theories and histories of dark tourism and pilgrimage, pilgrimage to dark tourism sites, and experience design. A key resource for researchers and students of heritage, tourism and pilgrimage, this book will also be of great interest to those studying anthropology, religious studies and related social science subjects.
ISBN: 9781789241877Publication Date: 2020-01-09
Tourism Routes and Trails by
Tourism Routes and Trails plunges into the world of 'extended' tourism, offering an exploration of the 'routes' phenomenon whereby tourism is no longer for a given destination, but extends over multiple sites, a territory or landscape. Covering how such routes are created, often as ways of clustering experiences, it also reviews their effects on tourism businesses, local populations and other stakeholders. Emphasising the critical role of local communities, volunteers and small businesses, as well as those who provide strategic direction and funding, the book: - Is based in tourism theory, but focuses on the models and practice of route formation; - Includes a rich selection of contemporary examples and cases, showing the reader best practice as well as illustrating challenges and risks; - Covers both strategic issues of concern to nations, regions and local authorities, and the complex dynamics occurring on the ground, such as the role of grass-roots organisations and local communities. Routes allow destinations to diversify their offer and spread the economic and social benefits of tourism. With tourist behaviour increasingly shifting to thematic experiences, this book shows how to create these in a way that is both meaningful for visitors and beneficial for the destination. Suitable for tourism policy makers, economic development agencies and local stakeholders, it is also a vital resource for the next generation; students of tourism, sociology, local politics and economic development.
ISBN: 9781786394767Publication Date: 2020-02-15
Emotional Intelligence in Tourism and Hospitality by
Emotional intelligence is the capability to recognize, use and manage one's own emotions and those of others. The use of emotional information guides thinking and behaviour, allowing adjustment of emotions to adapt to environments. As tourism and hospitality services are produced and consumed simultaneously, with a high level of contact between employees and customers, the development of emotional intelligence of employees in tourism and hospitality establishments is vital. This book has a skills-based approach and explains how emotional intelligence can be developed in tourism and hospitality students and employees. Key features: A foreword by Gill Hasson The first tourism and hospitality book to describe emotional intelligence Covers all major literature, concepts, theories and research findings from the perspective of emotional intelligence. Includes exercises, end of chapter questions, practical examples, student aids and Powerpoint slides for each chapter that can be used in class by academicians and practitioners in their training sessions. The book is intended for use by tourism and hospitality students, researchers and practitioners.
ISBN: 9781786398314Publication Date: 2019
Literary Tourism by
Literary tourism is a nascent field in tourism studies, yet tourists often travel in the footsteps of well-known authors and stories. Providing a wide-ranging cornucopia of literary tourism topics, this book fully explores the interconnections between the written word and travel. It includes tourism stories using guidebooks, films, television and electronic media, and recognises that stories, texts and narratives, even if they cannot be classified as traditional travel writing, can become journeys in themselves and take us on imaginary voyages. Furthermore, the book: - Provides a grounding in the theoretical perspectives on literature and the tourist experience; - Explores practical applications of literary tourism, such as destination promotion and creation, responsible tourism and learning benefits; - Uses global case studies to study literary tourism in action. Appealing to a wide audience of different disciplines, it encompasses subjects such as business literary writing, historical journeys and the poetry of Dylan Thomas. The use of these different perspectives demonstrates how heavily and widely literature influences travel, tourists and tourism, making it an important read for researchers and students of tourism, social science and literature.
ISBN: 9781786394590Publication Date: 2019
Managing Religious Tourism by
Managing Religious Tourism provides a global view of the tools and resources used in demand and supply management, in the context of pilgrimage and religious tourism. With a focus on toolkits and best practices, the book reinforces the quality of service provision and offers a reflection on consumers' perspectives and what drives their purchasing decisions with regards to a variety of destinations. These central themes are complemented by an understanding of management responses to consumer behaviour and mobility, accessibility, individualism and tourism for both sacred and secular purposes. The book also examines the ways in which networks, partnerships and the conceptual stakeholder approach can be employed by religious tourism suppliers working with destination management organisations. The text promotes sustainable development and a triple bottom line focus, with all chapters supporting policy for framing development. Key features include: - Global perspective on tools as well as management approaches and techniques. - Emphasis on sustainability in connecting sacred and secular consumers. - Focus on promoting learning and development within this important tourism sector.
ISBN: 9781786393197Publication Date: 2019-04-15
Overtourism by
This book examines the evolution of the phenomenon and explores the genesis of overtourism and the system dynamics underlining it. The 'overtourism' phenomenon is defined as the excessive growth of visitors leading to overcrowding and the consequential suffering of residents, due to temporary and often seasonal tourism peaks, that lead to permanent changes in lifestyles, amenities and well- being. Enormous tensions in overtourism affected destinations have driven the intensification of policy making and scholarly attention toward seeking antidotes to an issue that is considered paradoxical and problematic. Moving beyond the 'top 10 things you can do about overtourism', this book examines the evolution of the phenomenon and explores the genesis of overtourism as well as the system dynamics underpinning it. With a rigorous scientific approach, the book uses systems-thinking and contemporary paradigms around sustainable development, resilience planning and degrowth; while considering global economic, socio-political, environmental discourses. This book: - Deconstructs 'overtourism' and considers the many constituent parts that have led to its current conceptualisations; - Presents globally diverse views of overtourism through numerous case studies; - Is written in plain language accessible to readers beyond the academic context. Researchers, analysts, policy makers and industry stakeholders working within tourism as well as those within the private sector, community groups, civil society groups and NGOs will find this book an essential source of information.
ISBN: 9781786399823Publication Date: 2019-07-25
Winter Tourism by
Winter tourism has seen increased levels of investment in recent times, in an effort to reduce economic risk, address environmental concerns and adapt to the effects of global warming. New ski destinations are developing and merging with traditional ones to increase spatial distribution, while many established leading resorts are adapting their management models. Climate change adaptation processes are supported by the reduction of CO2 emissions and energy consumption in ski resorts. Current planning challenges include the increasing importance of scenic beauty, nature and sustainable development, as well as snow reliability, snow management and safety issues. Destination planning also requires an in-depth knowledge about ski tourists and their preferences regarding destination choice, which is impacted by many factors including the aging society, changing leisure time habits and new target markets such as China and India. This book is an essential reference for exploring these trends and the different approaches that are employed in the European Alpine region, North America, Scandinavia and Eastern Europe. It: showcases best case examples and good practice regarding environmental management in ski areas; discusses current trends and adaption strategies in winter tourism, with reference to skiers' preferences; and analyses future challenges for the market. It is of particular relevance for academic researchers and practitioners working in tourism and hospitality, especially with a focus on winter destinations; and those interested in consumer behaviour, business and management, recreation, and sustainable tourism development.
ISBN: 9781786395207Publication Date: 2019-11-25
World Heritage Sites by
Heritage is a growing area of both tourism and study, with World Heritage Site designations increasing year-on-year. This book reviews the important interrelations between the industry, local communities and conservation work, bringing together the various opportunities and challenges for different destinations. World Heritage status is a strong marketing brand, and proper heritage management and effective conservation are vital, but this tourism must also be developed and managed appropriately if it is to benefit a site. As many sites are located in residential areas, their interaction with the local community must also be carefully considered. This book: - Reviews new areas of development such as Historic Urban Landscapes, Intangible Cultural Heritage, Memory of the World and Global Geoparks. - Includes global case studies to relate theory to practice. - Covers a worldwide industry of over 1,000 cultural and natural heritage sites. An important read for academics, researchers and students of heritage studies, cultural studies and tourism, this book is also a useful resource for professionals working in conservation, cultural and natural heritage management.
ISBN: 9781786392688Publication Date: 2019-01-15
Creating Experience Value in Tourism by
Research delivers a multitude of approaches to value creation, represented here as a set of definitions, perspectives and interpretations of how tourists, as customers, create value alone and with others. Now updated throughout, Creating Experience Value in Tourism, 2nd Edition provides a clarification of these approaches as well as a practical translation as to how they can work within industry. Including a framework to distinguish among key resources or antecedents of customer value, this new edition: - Introduces the concept of co-creation of value in the tourist experience, looking at the definitions, structures and models available; - Provides a new chapter addressing value creation and resource configuration; - Considers consumer behaviour and factors affecting value creation from both physiological and psychological perspectives; - Introduces a new full colour internal design to aid understanding. Concluding with a summary of the areas for future research, this is a key resource for researchers, particularly those interested in experience value and co-creation, as well as a useful read for students of tourism and related industries.
ISBN: 9781786395030Publication Date: 2018-07-27
Degrowth in Tourism by
The modern-day world faces a hostile climate, depleted resources and the destruction of habitats. The dream that growth will lead to a materialistic utopia is left unfulfilled by a lack of ecological and economic capacity. The only choice is to find alternatives to increased growth, transform the structures and institutions currently shaping the world, change lifestyles and articulate a more credible vision for the future and lasting prosperity. As a reaction to the problems accrued by capitalism, new development approaches such as the concept of degrowth have evolved. Degrowth in Tourism explores newly-emerging development and philosophical approachesthat provide more equity for host communities and offer a low-carbon future by looking at alternatives to the classic models of development and applying the concept of degrowth in a tourism context. Proposing that we need to shift tourism research from models which prioritize commodified tourism experiences to those that offer alternative decommodified ones, this book: - Provides topical analysis and illustrates the key themes of degrowth; - Discusses the relationship between tourism and degrowth from both a historic perspective and through contemporary patterns of activity; - Includes international examples and case studies to translate theory into practical new approaches. A comprehensive review of the subject, this book will be of great interest to researchers and practitioners within tourism, development, environment and economics, as well as those specifically studying degrowth.
ISBN: 9781786392787Publication Date: 2018-09-12
Gender Equality and Tourism by
Does tourism empower women working in and producing tourism? How are women using the transformations tourism brings to their advantage? How do women, despite prejudice and stereotypes, break free, resist and renegotiate gender norms at the personal and societal levels? When does tourism increase women's autonomy, agency and authority? The first of its kind this book delivers: A critical approach to gender and tourism development from different stakeholder perspectives, from INGOs, national governments, and managers as well as workers in a variety of fields producing tourism. Stories of individual women working across the world in many aspects of tourism. A foreword by Margaret Bryne Swain and contributions from academics and practitions from across the globe. A lively and accessible style of writing that links academic debates with lived realities while offering hope and practical suggestions for improving gender equality in tourism. Gender Equality and Tourism: Beyond Empowerment, a critical gendered analysis that questions the extent to which tourism brings women empowerment, is an engaging and thought-provoking read for students, researchers and practitioners in the areas of tourism, gender studies, development and anthropology.
ISBN: 9781786394422Publication Date: 2018-08-14
Global Climate Change and Coastal Tourism by
Building upon the book Disappearing Destinations (Jones and Phillips 2010) and its conclusion that promoted the need to recognize problems, meet expectations and manage solutions Global Climate Change and Coastal Tourism explores current threats to, and consequences of, climate change on existing tourism coastal destinations. Part 1 of the book provides a theoretical platform and addresses topics such as sustainability, tourism impacts, governance trade and innovation and how the media addresses climate change and tourism. It also assesses management and policy options for the future sustainability of threatened tourism coastal destinations. Part 2 presents case studies from all regions of the world (Europe, The Americas, Asia, Africa and Australasia) which synthesise findings to make recommendations that can be used to promote strategies that ameliorate projected impacts of climate change on coastal tourism infrastructure and in turn promote the future sustainability of coastal tourism destinations. This is a timely and informative text with appeal to researchers, undergraduate and post graduate students of tourism management, tourism planning, sustainable tourism development and leisure management, coastal tourism/management, environmental management/planning, geography, coastal zone management or climate change studies.
ISBN: 9781780648439Publication Date: 2017-11-30
Managing Quality of Life in Tourism and Hospitality by
Quality-of-life research in tourism and hospitality has gained much momentum in the past two decades. This line of research covers three main areas of focus: (i) the impacts of specific tourism and hospitality programmes on the overall quality of life of tourists/guests; (ii) the providers of goods and services; (iii) tourist communities, including the impact of different programmes and events on the quality of life of residents in these communities. Focusing on these key subjects, Managing Quality of Life in Tourism and Hospitality provides a portfolio of selected cases showing best practice and delivering them to the forefront of knowledge application, with examples in tourism and hospitality settings. Best practice case studies are included throughout, providing practical implications and lessons learned. These lessons can be applied by tourism and hospitality practitioners and community leaders, and be used to further research by academics working within tourism and hospitality. The book offers an exciting and refreshing approach to quality-of-life research in tourism and hospitality. Key features include: - Best practice and evidence-based case studies. - Broad coverage that includes tourists, industry and local communities. - International application, with material from various countries across the world.
ISBN: 9781786390455Publication Date: 2018-12-14
Risk and Safety Challenges for Religious Tourism and Events by
Travellers today face many challenges from risk and safety issues. Focusing in particular on risk and safety issues faced by visitors to holy sites, this book looks at the unique challenges raised, where annual religious festivals are commemorated with mass gatherings lasting for days and large crowds require detailed disaster management plans. Beginning with a general section on risk management, covering areas such as disaster management, terrorism, crime and security, the book then delves deeper into specific issues and challenges. It reviews important topics such as understanding the behaviour of crowds, how to perform a risk assessment for a sacred space, and travelling in what some would regard as an increasingly hostile world. Examining critically all risk and safety challenges in this area of management, the book: - Includes a full section of global case studies, as well as discussion questions for each chapter, encouraging readers to translate theory into good practice. - Offers critical thinking on risk, vulnerability and long-term development for mass gatherings. - Covers the importance of disaster management practices and offers practical advice for ensuring attendees' safety. Mitigating risk at mass gathering events and festivals is an area that still needs further research, but this book brings together current thought and provides a valuable reference for those studying religion, tourism and events, as well as event organizers, emergency and hospital services, and local authorities.
ISBN: 9781786392282Publication Date: 2018-05-29
Tourism and Leisure Behaviour in an Ageing World by
Tourism and Leisure Behaviour in an Ageing World, based on Ian Patterson's previously published Growing Older, provides an overview of the latest research concerning tourist behaviour and leisure needs of baby boomers, seniors, and older adults. With an increasingly ageing population, industry interest has intensified and there has been a corresponding explosion in related research activity. Covering marketplace trends that attract the older market, this new edition: - Provides an understanding of the older tourism and leisure market, discussing how to effectively provide for this expanding group; - Discusses growing areas such as independent travel, the leisure experience, cultural and heritage tourism, cruises, and health and wellness tourism; - Supplies case studies of tourism and leisure organizations successfully catering to the needs of the older market. This book is an invaluable resource for researchers and students interested in senior leisure and travel, a section with the money and the time to invest heavily in leisure and tourism activities. It can also be applied by professionals to improve their product offerings for this sector, which, while valuable, brings its own unique challenges.
ISBN: 9781786390943Publication Date: 2018-02-07
Tourism Management in Warm-Water Island Destinations by
Warm-water islands are a cohesive group of islands distinguished by their geography and remoteness, history as former colonial territories, and dependence on external stakeholders for their economic and social development. Warm-water island destinations also have a year-round tourism industry. These island tourism destinations are facing unprecedented adjustment challenges in the wake of increasing globalization and susceptibility to external shocks, and are in search of appropriate policy responses to that globalization. It is critical for small islands to understand how these challenges affect tourism performance and how they impact their residents. Tourism Management in Warm-water Island Destinations unearths the critical aspects that contribute to tourism development and growth in islands. Particular emphasis is placed on destinations such as the Caribbean, with lessons learned that are applicable to other island tourism contexts in the Mediterranean, Indian Ocean and the Pacific. · Presents emerging research themes and methodology; · Provides insight into factors that result in successful and unsuccessful cases; · Features a focus on Cuba and its reintroduction to the tourism landscape. This book provides a platform for emerging systemic perspectives of the various aspects of island tourism, with the view that strategies for the management and development of tourism in island environments can be improved and will be of interest to those studying and researching within destination management.
ISBN: 9781786390929Publication Date: 2018-03-09
Cruise Ship Tourism by
Completely updated and revised, Cruise Ship Tourism, 2nd Edition covers the economic, social and environmental impacts of cruising, combining the latest knowledge and research to provide a comprehensive account of the subject. Despite the industry growing rapidly, there is a substantial gap in the related literature, and this book addresses the key issues for researchers, students and industry professionals. This second edition: - Reviews the fundamental principles of the industry, the cruise experience from a passenger perspective, marketing, planning and destination development. - Includes case studies throughout, translating theory into practical management advice. - Comprises contributions from over fifty international contributors to portray a truly global perspective. - Provides numerous full colour illustrations to bring the subject to life. A valuable 'one-stop-shop' for those interested in cruise ships and maritime tourism, this new edition from major names in the field is also an invaluable resource for anyone concerned more widely with tourism and business development.
ISBN: 9781780646084Publication Date: 2017-03-01
Visitor Experience Design by ISBN: 9781786391896
Destination Competitiveness, the Environment and Sustainability by
Destination competitiveness and sustainability are important issues for many stakeholders within the tourism industry. In recent years, destinations have faced some challenges with respect to maintaining sustainability; they must be cleaner, greener and safer in order to safeguard the life quality of holidaymakers and local residents. Providing an invaluable review of the latests research on the topic, global case studies provide a perspective of the worldwide challenges and solutions arising in the management of tourism destinations. The analysis presents an interdisciplinary approach, including contributions of economists, geographers, managers and marketing professionals.
ISBN: 9781780646978Publication Date: 2015-12-18
Food Tourism by
The fastest growth in tourism is the culinary sector. Covering farmers markets, taste tours, agri-entertainment, glamping, restaurants, farm shops and more, food tourism has become both an important part of holidaying and a purpose in itself. With growth occurring in most developed countries and tourists searching out culinary tourism throughout the world, this book provides an overall direction to the development of food tourism and a section on the future of this trend.
ISBN: 9781780645025Publication Date: 2015-02-20
Cultural Tourism by
With contributions from international experts this book provides a broad discussion of cultural tourism as a concept and the way it is implemented in diverse regions around the world. Addressing the notion of cultural tourism and what it means to tourism as an industry, and also types of cultural tourism offered to tourists and experienced by them. Many international case studies will be included on specific instances of cultural tourism, and current topics such as cultural tourism's relationship to sustainability are discussed.
ISBN: 9781845939236Publication Date: 2013-04-10
Bunch and Oil Analysis of Oil Palm by
This is a hands-on, practical guide to describe physical bunch and oil analysis of oil palm. Bunch and oil analysis laboratories are set up at oil mills to assess production, yield potential of plantations and oil extraction rates relative to targets. The higher the oil yields produced by the planting material, the less land that is needed to achieve a specific level of production, hence helping in the sustainability of the crop. Practical, illustrated steps are given in determining bunch and oil characteristics of oil palm. Promoting green, eco-friendly agriculture, this book covers: An introduction to bunch and oil analysis Health and safety considerations Bunch sampling Physical bunch analysis of stalks, spikelets, fruits and nuts Fruit sampling Nut analysis and measurements of components Oil analysis, oil extraction and measurement Calculation of bunch components and reporting. This is an invaluable manual for oil palm mill managers, oil palm plantation managers, palm oil producers, oil palm breeders, agronomists, oil chemists, oil palm seed producing companies and research institutes across the world (especially tropical zones). It is useful for those starting a career in oil palm production, as a reference guide for managers and for training purposes.
ISBN: 9781789241365Publication Date: 2019-07-06
Health Emergency Preparedness and Response by
Intensely practical and down to earth, this text covers the breadth of health emergency preparedness, resilience and response topics in the context of inter-disciplinary and whole society responses to a range of threats. It includes public, private and third sector roles in preparation for and in response to natural and man-made events, such as: major incident planning; infectious disease epidemics and pandemics; natural disasters; terrorist threats; and business and service continuity management. The book builds upon the basics of risk assessment and writing an emergency plan, and then covers inter-agency working, command and control, communication, personal impact and business continuity as well as training, exercises and post-incident follow up. Detailing the full emergency preparedness and civil protection planning cycle, the book is illustrated throughout with real-life examples and case studies from global experts in the field for countries with both advanced and developing healthcare systems. This practical handbook covering the essential aspects of major incident and disaster management is ideal for undergraduate and master's students in emergency management and public health, as well as for practitioners in emergency preparedness and civil protection. It will be valuable to all health practitioners from ambulance, hospital, primary and community care, mental health and public health backgrounds.
ISBN: 9781780644554Publication Date: 2016-09-23
