Historia del Arte I
Estudio de la evolución de las artes desde los primeros registros visuales en la prehistoria, así como las expresiones artísticas de la antigüedad y la época clásica hasta la Edad Media, con el fin de que los estudiantes desarrollen sensibilidad y una compresión amplia de los fenómenos artísticos.
Bibliografía recomendada
El arte en las diferentes etapas históricas: aportaciones estéticas. by ISBN: 9788498239362Publication Date: 2010
The Art of Art History by
Here is a new edition of Donald Preziosi's masterful selection of the most influential and innovative writing on art history of the past two centuries. The book includes over thirty pieces by seminal thinkers and writers from Winckelmann, Kant, and Hegel to Foucault, Carol Duncan, and Mary Kelly on such subjects as aesthetics and anthropology, postmodern automatons, semiotics and iconography, performative acts, the museum as ritual, digital art, and many others. Each of the book's eight thematic sections offers an introduction providing background information, further reading, and critical commentary on the issues at stake. This edition has been updated and expanded to include sixteen new selections by key figures from Giorgio Vasari to Walter Benjamin and Satya Mohanty, a new concluding essay from Donald Preziosi on the tasks of the art historian today, and an entirely new section on Globalization and Its Discontents. For students and teachers, artists and historians, and anyone interested in the evolution and purpose of art history, this anthology offers many fascinating insights.
ISBN: 9780199229840Publication Date: 2009
Art in World History 2 Vols by
A guide to the establishment of the library which covers materials acquisition, the organization and usage of the library's collection to provide a variety of services and the use of automation. This book aims to instruct the librarian on managing the small library effectively.
ISBN: 9780765680693Publication Date: 2003
Estética
Arte prehistórico
Palaeoart of the Ice Age by
The many hundreds of books and thousands of academic papers on the topic of Pleistocene (Ice Age) art are limited in their approach because they deal only with the early art of southwestern Europe. This is the first book to offer a comprehensive synthesis of the known Pleistocene palaeoart of six continents, a phenomenon that is in fact more numerous and older in other continents. It contemplates the origins of art in a balanced manner, based on reality rather than fantasies about cultural primacy. Its key findings challenge most previous perceptions in this field and literally re-write the discipline. Despite the eclectic format and its high academic standards, the book addresses the non-specialist as well as the specialist reader. It presents a panorama of the rich history of palaeoart, stretching back more than twenty times as long in time as the cave art of France and Spain. This abundance of evidence is harnessed in presenting a new hypothesis of how early humans began to form and express constructs of reality and thus created the ideational world in which they existed. It explains how art-producing behaviour began and the origins of how humans relate to the world consciously.
ISBN: 9781443895170Publication Date: 2017
New Perspectives on Prehistoric Art by
Following the discovery of Franco-Caribbean cave art in the nineteenth century, standard interpretations of these works usually revolved around hunting, magic, and fertility cults. Orthodox positions such as these have weighed heavily on later generations of art historians, archaeologists, and anthropologists, even those whose views dissented from those of their predecessors. In the last few decades, however, new approaches to cave art, often based on discoveries made in Africa, Asia, Australia, North America, and the Arctic region, have produced new insights into possible meanings and functions of prehistoric paintings and sculptures. This new collection of essays explores these insights, gathering the observations of eight experts from a variety of disciplines, and examining some of the social and spiritual functions of a variety of artistic genres ranging from 40,000 B.C. to 5,000 B.C. These insights, which derive from evolutionary biology, feminist scholarship, ritual studies, and new modes of anthropology, argue collectively that prehistoric art was a culture-specific form of communication that should be interpreted in the social context of early hunger-gatherer societies and should not be measured with the criteria and paradigms of modern art. Essential reading for anyone interested in prehistoric art or its cultural implications, this volume represents a bold step forward in the research and analysis of the very first artists.
ISBN: 9780313059575Publication Date: 2004
Arte Antiguo
A Companion to the Ancient near East by
The new edition of the popular survey of Near Eastern civilization from the Bronze Age to the era of Alexander the Great A Companion to the Ancient Near East explores the history of the region from 4400 BCE to the Macedonian conquest of the Persian Empire in 330 BCE. Original and revised essays from a team of distinguished scholars from across disciplines address subjects including the politics, economics, architecture, and heritage of ancient Mesopotamia and Egypt. Part of the Blackwell Companions to the Ancient World series, this acclaimed single-volume reference combines lively writing with engaging and relatable topics to immerse readers in this fascinating period of Near East history. The new second edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to include new developments in relevant fields, particularly archaeology, and expand on themes of interest to contemporary students. Clear, accessible chapters offer fresh discussions on the history of the family and gender roles, the literature, languages, and religions of the region, pastoralism, medicine and philosophy, and borders, states, and warfare. New essays highlight recent discoveries in cuneiform texts, investigate how modern Egyptians came to understand their ancient history, and examine the place of archaeology among the historical disciplines. This volume: Provides substantial new and revised content covering topics such as social conflict, kingship, cosmology, work, trade, and law Covers the civilizations of the Sumerians, Hittites, Babylonians, Assyrians, Egyptians, Israelites, and Persians, emphasizing social and cultural history Examines the legacy of the Ancient Near East in the medieval and modern worlds Offers a uniquely broad geographical, chronological, and topical range Includes a comprehensive bibliographical guide to Ancient Near East studies as well as new and updated references and reading suggestions Suitable for use as both a primary reference or as a supplement to a chronologically arranged textbook, A Companion to the Ancient Near East, 2nd Edition is a valuable resource for advanced undergraduates, beginning graduate students, instructors in the field, and scholars from other disciplines.
ISBN: 9781119362463Publication Date: 2020
Byzantine Art by
The magnificence of this cultures palaces, churches, paintings, enamels, ceramics, and mosaics are fully represented in the book, inviting the reader on a great journey through the ages. The extraordinary power of this tradition guaranteed its survival long after the dissolution of the empire that gave it life, and the art left behind by this civilisation never stops beckoning to us.
ISBN: 9781844846207Publication Date: 2009
La expresión del islam a partir del siglo XIII (4a. ed.) by ISBN: 9788416014989Publication Date: 2013
Gothic Art by
Gothic art finds its roots in the powerful architecture of the cathedrals of northern France. It is a medieval art movement that evolved throughout Europe over more than 200 years.Leaving curved Roman forms behind, the architects started using flying buttresses and pointed arches to open up cathedrals to daylight. A period of great economic and social change, the Gothic era also saw the development of a new iconography celebrating the Holy Mary - in drastic contrast to the fearful themes of dark Roman times. Full of rich changes in all of the various art forms (architecture, sculpture, painting, etc.), Gothic art paved the way for the Italian Renaissance and International Gothic movement.
ISBN: 9781780428123Publication Date: 2012
Bases de datos relacionadas con temas de Arte
- Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new windowBase de datos con acceso a índices y artículos en texto completo.
- Art & Architecture Video Collection This link opens in a new windowcolección de Videos educativos, documentales de corta duración en varios temas del arte
- Bloomsbury Design LibraryProvee acceso a obras de referencia y libros en temas relacionados al arte, diseño y diseño de interiores.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowBase de datos que provee acceso bibliográfico a artículos de investigación en ciencias terrestres
Sitios web
- Archivo de Exhibiciones del Museo de Historia, Arte y Antropología de UPRRPArchivo de las exhibiciones basadas en textos de investigación académica sobre las artes visuales, antropología e historia de Puerto Rico preparadas por el Museo de Historia, Antropología y Arte de la Universidad de Puerto Rico, Recinto de Río Piedras. Contiene imágenes, información general de la exhibición y enlace a algunos catálogos. Cubre periódos de 1950 al presente.
- ASID Interior Design Product Finder This link opens in a new windowBase de datos para identificar distribuidores de objetos y productos para proyectos de diseño de Interiores
- Catálogos de Arte de Puerto RicoProyecto que incluye catálogos de arte de exhibiciones de artistas puertorriqueñon en áreas como cerámica, escultura, grabado, multimedio, pintura, etc. Este sitio provee datos descriptivos de los catálogos y reproduce parcialmente el contenido de los mismos
- Europeana CollectionsEuropeana Collections proporciona acceso a más de 50 millones de archivos digitalizados —libros, música, material gráfico, etc, .especializadas en arte, mode, música, fotografía y la Primera Guerra Mundial contienen gallerías, blogs y exposiciones diseñadas para informar e inspirar.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection SearchProvee acceso a la colección de imágenes del Museo Metropolitano de Nueva York.
- Museo del LouvreProvee acceso a las imágenes de la colección de obras de arte disponible en el Museo del Louvre.
- Museo del PradoProvee acceso a las imágenes de la colección de arte del Museo del Prado.
- Museum of Applied Arts This link opens in a new windowcolección digital de imágenes de arte decorativo, arte clásico y Moderno
- WikiArt: Visual Art Encyclopedia This link opens in a new windowRepositorio en línea gratuito de imágenes de arte, desde el periodo clásico hasta el Moderno. Las imágenes en la colección son de obras tanto en el dominio público como en aquellas protegidas por derechos de Autor.